We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Parisian Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of L'Assiette

L'Assiette
Reserve with
L'Assiette is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #676 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $59
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
Description: Old delicatessen Art deco reconverted to "Bistrot" while keeping her authentic decoration. Cooking of season with fresh products stemming from small regional producers. 2 Specialities dishes: cassoulet House and Calf's head Bucks up Beautiful owners' wine list.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A Parisian Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

I came here last year and it was a memorable meal for its civilized Parisian quality. So I was happy to return recently but was put off by the mixed reviews on this site. Perhaps the excellent chef, who had cooked for Ducasse had left? Perhaps there were new owners. I emailed the resto with a question and the chef himself responded. I did return and am so glad I did. First, when entering with my wife and two teenage girls, a friendly, warm though casual welcome from the maitre d' and the chef, who was cooking on a Sunday night (try finding that in NY). The entire front of the house is run by that same friendly maitre d' and one assistant, two consummate pros who never leave you looking for help and even have time to review each item on their lovely menu plus specials. It's busy but you don't feel rushed, rather like you are in the hub of a fun party. The meal here always starts with ham sliced off the bone, bread and sweet butter.
The ingredients are top-notch. Our standout dishes: salmon prepared as herring, Colvert duck pie, Tartare of fresh, not frozen, blue shrimp and a vegetable medley served in a small copper pot.

The food is indeed first rate but it is the entire experience that puts this place into the excellent category.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrillMeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    82
    26
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aldeburgh, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Traditional neighbourhood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

A return visit after four years shows that little has changed, arriving early we were quickly seated and offerred a small plate of shredded ham, bread and butter. The menu, supplemented by plats du jour on a blackboard, contains a good range of traditional dishes such as escargots, cassoulet, grilled chicken, quenelles of brill in a crayfish sauce, then rum baba, îles flottantes, creamed rice all properly executed, though the quenelles of good texture lacked flavour. As the evening progressed the restaurant filled up to perhaps 50 covers so that the single waiter aided by the patron became hard-pressed. Altogether, though, a very pleasant evening (but not cheap despite quite modest surroundings).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommillerjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“really good food, but very expensive for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

5 of us went for Sunday lunch here recently. The restaurant is down a narrow alley and doesn't look like much from the outside but inside it is very pleasant, the staff were very friendly and explained what each dish on the menu consisted of (it was handy that our colleagues were fluent in French), each dish that we tried was top notch. Almost all of the dishes consist of game or meat (hare, mallard - even an entire calf's head!), so steer clear if you are vegetarian. However the bill came to over 300 euros which may be ok for a top class evening meal in the center of Paris but for a lunch in a out-of-the way suburb it seemed a bit steep.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good traditional Paris restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We went here after Googling best restaurants in Paris and after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. It was also close to our hotel in Montparnasse. We did walk there during the day but decided to cab there at night as there were some unsavoury characters around during our day time walk. We were not disappointed. While the menu was all French the staff were very helpful in explaining the menu although their English was good not fluent but we had no problem understanding them. We were first there at 6:30 and the place was full by 7:30. The food was great, very French and the portions were generous, a table next to us had the casoulet and it looked huge. The wine was good and complemented the meal. We were rushed initially but once the restaurant filled up the service got to a pace that we liked. We were still there at 10 and although there was a line up to get we were not rushed out. The staff were informal but very helpful. If we were staying again in Montparnasse we would come here again, more so that L'Atelier De Joel Rubichon. (See review of that establishment.) The restaurant itself is quite small cosy and very traditional. Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GDSAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

The service was very friendly which was nice since there was no English menu, so this wasn't the problem. My parents got the veal chop for 32€.nit was served with sautéed vegetables. They requested medium which it was, but very tough and had a bland taste..I had the Sea Bass seared over asparagus risotto. It was pretty good. the wine was good and the Grand Marnier souffle was the best part of the meal. We did not have an appetizer, but the meal came to over 210€=$279.00. DEFINITELY not worth the price. The wine was a Bordeux from the St. Emilion region, but it was only 68€ of the bill.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank riksable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Assiette also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Assiette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing