We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“King of the Hill”
Review of L'As du Fallafel

L'As du Fallafel
Ranked #322 of 17,407 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Chestertown, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“King of the Hill”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is THE ULTIMATE fallafel shop anywhere. This one just happens to be in Paris. We missed out on this place last year, so we got there right at noon on Sunday and were seated in the side room... which soon was packed as was the rest of dining room... and the line for the take-a-way just kept getting longer. As just about every tourist and Parisian knows... the Marais district is practically the only one open on Sunday.

Believe everything you've ever read about this place. The food matches the energy inside and out. My wife had the standard fallafel especial... numerous fallafel and all the mixings crammed into a soft pita. I went with the fallafel plate and a Maccabees beer. My dozen or so fallafel balls were the best... and the accompaniments of hummous, red cabbage, white cabbage, etc... just added to the plate.

There are a couple of other fallafel shops nearby if you elect for a little less helter skelter. They're good, but this place really is the King.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,813
    1,181
    329
    123
    117
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Not that amazing I don't get the fuss”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I really don't know what the fuss is about. This place had a huge queue and o be honest the falafel was ok but nothing spectacular. The more worrying issue was that wife became quite sick the next day as a result of eating here.

I hate to stick to stingy stereotypes but the guy behind the counter gave us only 1 napkin per falafel and we had a baby. When I asked for a few more he gave me 1 extra napkin. Really?!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zeeshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great find!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I absolutely loved this place!
We were seated straight away, sevice was very quick. Staff were friendily and knew enough English to get by.
I'd recommend the special fallafel. We also had fries, a can of beer and glass of wine.
Never tasted fallafel this good! Will definitely be going back next time I am in Paris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Em1388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Just like what you find in Northern Israel”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I lived on a Kibbutz north of Nahariya for a year, and ate Fallafel everywhere from next to the Jaffa Gate in Jerusalem to stands next to the beach at Gesher Agziv. My favorite was a stand manned by a bedoin family in the Acco Old City. L'As is the real thing - and almost as good as the Acco stand. Crunchy on the outside - soft and creamy in the inside - perfect toppings. Sit inside and order the fries and a Maccabe beer. Perfect lunch. Great neighborhood. I visit L'As every time I'm in Paris (I think this is my 4th trip to the restaurant). My only gripe is that the sandwich is now 8e. Seems a tad high, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“It's all true...the Fallafel is amazing!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Some other reviewers didn't enjoy this place, however my partner and I loved it. Make sure you go there hungry, as the servings are quite big. We had the Pita Fallafel which is a pita bread pocket full of fallafel balls, grated carrot, red cabbage, hommus, tahini, cucumber, onion and beetroot. It is seriously delicious and an effort to get your mouth around!
You pay 9.50 Euro for that and a drink.
We also had a side order of hoummus and pita bread. It is very fresh and tasty. The service was quick and friendly (they speak enough English to get by with our bad French!) and the restaurant was pretty quiet, tables outside were full but inside no problem. This was about 4pm in the afternoon though, so I imagine it gets much busier.
All in all, it was a really great meal!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joannefarrell955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'As du Fallafel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'As du Fallafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing