We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of L'Absinthe

L'Absinthe
Reserve with
L'Absinthe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #541 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $62
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
Description: L'Absinthe is a "bistrot de cuisinier", a cooks' bistrot, firmly modern. The menu is entirely created, tested and produced in the restaurant's kitchen. Every single task from the slicing of vegetables to the seasoning of sauces including the filleting of fish, is executed in situ from A to Z. Each dish conveys the creative family spirit at the rate of the seasons and inspired by their different journeys around the world. The restaurant's interior design will also make you feel this travelling and dynamic atmosphere: you will eat in setting which is a mix between a typical Parisian bistrot and a loft in New York.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a lovely lunch - chose from the specials board (sea bass and risotto) and menu (shrimp with an Asian flair) and had desserts (lemon custard and hazelnut torte with meringue). Meals were wonderful, desserts were okay. With a bottle of water and no wine, total €82

Very nice atmosphere, good service, and great location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StuALEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    239
    75
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“perfect restaurant!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

we felt like at home, fantastic food, original ideas to prepare the classics of the french food. The waiter was really nice with us and recommended us well the menu, to recommend!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naouelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fine bistro/restaurant at decent price!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

I do not know whether this is typically for Paris, but this place is something to remember... located at 5 minutes walk from the Louvre, charming and trendy at the same time. Good ingredients and nice combinations make this a much more than a quick lunch or diner... something like an "insperience"!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My boyfriend and i ate here on our recent vacation in Paris. we came in quite late, after a Ballet at Opera and were happy to be sitted right away without reservations on a Friday evening.
Our waiter was nice and his recommendations were all great, everything we ordered was delicious, from the warm salad with egg and sardines to the fish we had as entrees.
Also the warm chocolate suffle was yummy!
If you are in Paris and are looking for a nice cozy, comfortable, tasty dinner in the area of Saint Honore or Opera, head to L'absinth!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OrCarmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Fine dining in cozy atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

We ate here twice, both times without reservations.
If you get there early, you may be seated downstairs which has subdued lighting, is more romantic, more private.
The next time we arrived at 9 - the only table left was upstairs near a service door. Not great seating but we shared the Chef's paté en croute and it made us forget everything else...
I found it curious they did not promote their Absinthe more - at the time did not know if we should be drinking it before, with or after the meal and the staff did not help so we just stayed with wine.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria-Enrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Absinthe also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Absinthe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing