We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No French eat here”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Jacques Cagna - CLOSED

Jacques Cagna
Price range: $0 - $146
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No French eat here”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had a nice meal here, but it really could not justify the prices. I don't think you can prepare any cod that justify a price of $65 or a berry dessert for $30. The escargot was wonderful. One of the most memorable foods of my life. I also had the Brittany lobster prepared 2 ways. It was very good. Poached and roasted. It is similar to a Maine lobster but smaller.

The ambience was nice, but you would have thought you were in America. There was only one french speaking table in the room while we there. It was kind of funny because he has a sister restaurant around the corner that was really hopping and we walked in there and gave our name to be seated and as soon as they knew we were americans, he said you must be at our other restaurant. I think the concierges in town just send Americans here. My favorite meal was at La Ferma Saint Simon 6Rue Saint Simon 75007 St. Germain near Boulevard Raspail behind the St. Germain Cafe.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank luvsmoutarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Big attitude; will not go back”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We were apprehensive about bringing our 1 year old to the restaurant so we asked to see if it was ok before we made the reservation. The response was that it was certainly ok, so we did. When we arrived at the restaurant and were getting situated at our table, we temporarily put a small carrying bag on the table. Annie Logereau-Cagna, one of the owners, immediately came over and told us that we should not put the bag on the table and should immediately move it onto the bench. Throughout the evening she was also staring at us sternly just because our baby was making a little bit of noise, which was no louder than the conversation noise level at the rest of the restaurant. It is ok not allowing babies at restuarants but it is another story to tell us that it was ok and then made us feel uncomfortable the entire evening.

They have an English menu (tasting menu is EUR95). The food was ok, the wine was good. The rest of the waitstaff was nice. But, there are many other restaurants in Paris with better food and NO attitude (Taillevent is one of them), so there is absolutely no reason to come to this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank newyork123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
201 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“A wonderful but Expensive Meal”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We try to eat at one Michelin-starred restaurant when we visit Paris and this time we selected Jacques Cagna at the recommendation of our concierge, who was able to get us a table on short notice. The restaurant was charming and rustic and the service was professional and attentive. The food was excellent with respect to preparation and quality of the ingredients. The two warm foie gras appetizers and sweetbreads for main course were particularly notable. However, the issue for us was whether the expense -- it's difficult to see how you dine at this restaurant for less than $200 per person -- justified the experience when you can readily have an excellent meal at numerous non-Michelin-starred restaurants in Paris for one-third to one-half the price.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adanacsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything awesome”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

a bit expensive, but it is a pleasure to burn money in this things.... excelent cooking, FOi Gras Chaud is great.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chapulin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dining experience of a lifetime”
Reviewed January 22, 2011

A curving staircase that lead to old world charm....large wooden beams and oil paintings created the ambiance.... food was incredible....cream of mushroom soup is divine......excellent foie grais....desert of assorted glaces....service was appropriate and we never felt rushed....very pricey

  • Visited October 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kytraveler4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacques Cagna also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing