We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacques Cagna - CLOSED

Jacques Cagna
Price range: $0 - $146
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

a bit expensive, but it is a pleasure to burn money in this things.... excelent cooking, FOi Gras Chaud is great.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chapulin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dining experience of a lifetime”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

A curving staircase that lead to old world charm....large wooden beams and oil paintings created the ambiance.... food was incredible....cream of mushroom soup is divine......excellent foie grais....desert of assorted glaces....service was appropriate and we never felt rushed....very pricey

  • Visited October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kytraveler4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice but nothing wow'd me”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

Overall the experience is nice. I went in September 2010. Food is of high quality, though a bit too heavy and salty for my taste. Service is mediocre only and you see the usual French pride in the server. Restaurant is very dated. I like historic buidling but I think they should still give it a face lift. There were only 4 tables (including us) at the restaurant that night which was a sunday night. We had the gourmet menu for 95 euro per person plus wine and other extras. Overall it's a nice experience but it didn't wow me. I went to Atlas in the same area next day and it definitely is a lot better in terms of price/quality ratio. I would definitely try out other restaurants next time. But if you have never been and want to try the legendary Jacques Cagna it doesn't hurt to go. But for that price I think there are better ones out there

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bambooscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Romantic X10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2010

My wife and I had dinner on 5/18/10. We went without reservations at around 7 PM but were still invited to dine. the staff spoke English and went out of their way to accomodate us. We had filet and lamb. The sommelier picked a nice red wine. The appetizers and breads were wonderful. We had the most fabulous soup I have ever tasted. The food was delicious. The desserts were beautiful. Great care and expertise are rendered to presentation and taste throughout the entire dining experience. The interior is filled with original Flemish art. The walls are a foot thick in this old section of Paris and heavy exposed beams adorn the ceiling. It is a bit expensive. Our meal was $308.00 after our check card converted to U.S. dollars. French cuisine at it's finest.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank riclemenza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bad service, overcooked steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2010

You know how everyone says the French are snobs? Well we were there for a week and only met one such person, he was the wine waiter at Jacques Cagna. He was obviously offended that we chose our own bottle of wine without his help. Aside from him the rest of the staff were very nice. My steak was overcooked. I ordered it medium, which in Paris usually results in medium rare. It came out medium well, with some thinner parts well done. My wife had fish, which was good. For 2 main dishes and 1 (infamous) bottle of wine it cost $200 euros.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Central_Jersey_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacques Cagna also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing