We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mediocre meal”
Review of Hippopotamus

Hippopotamus
Ranked #5,573 of 17,315 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“mediocre meal”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we ate here on the first night of our stay as it was close to our hotel - never again.
It appeared to be the parisian version of wetherspoons with a higher price tag!
Menus are all in french - so if you don't speak it, you will struggle. I can speak a little french and managed to pick something from the menu we both liked.
although the restaurant was half empty they crammed everyone in at one side, the tables were so close together the waitress had to pull the table out to let you in, then push it back in and jam you in. to make it worse, you bumped elbows with the strangers at the table beside you when you cut your meat!
Food was ok - what we ordered.
But given the chance, we wouldn't go here again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank A1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    382
    280
    180
    143
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I normally only write reviews of hotels and restaurants that have been really outstanding in their price range. However, Hippopotamus at Les Halles/Marais was so dreadful that I felt compelled to write something about it to warn others.

The service was arrogant and slow (even though they were about the only place in the area that was half empty on a Friday night). The food was very poor. Steaks were small, over cooked and gristly. Starters and salads were chilly and tasteless. The wine was bleak and overpriced. It would have been a substandard experience at a British motorway service area in the 1970s. For Paris this was just atrocious! I know that it is aimed at tourists, but there really is no excuse for such a dire place. AVOID!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Premium fast food with a french-touch”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've been a customer for this restaurant at the end of June, 2012. We were three people and we've seen this restaurant chain in many different places of Paris so we've decided to try it.
When we entered we were welcomed by a hostess which took as politely to our table. The menu is typical for a steak house, but when the meal is served, except the meat that is really tasty and looks good, you have a slight feeling that you've ordered a Big Mac menu with onion rings :) Of course, I don't want to be mean, just subjective. The price/quality is worthy definately - while in a good restaurant in Paris a lunch in free is more than 80 euros here we did it for half a price.

If you're in a rush and you want to try a colourful experience but you are not expecting fine dishes, Hippopotamus might be your solution.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bogdan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm glad I didn't read the TripAdvisor reviews on this restaurant before I decided to eat here!

After our journey over from London, we got checked into our hotel, and decided to find some food. We ventured over to Hippopotamus & based on the menu decided to give it a go.

We were greeted warmly & when the host quickly realized we didn't speak French, switched to English to accommodate.

They were patient with us & our questions & gave us plenty of time to look over the menu & translate it.

My partner ordered a Caesar salad & we both ordered steak w some mixed drinks.

Dessert was a huge plate of 5 desserts & it was to die for.

The servers came around often, as did the Host to make sure everything was great.

This was my first experience in a Parisian restaurant & I thank Hippopotamus for making it a delicious, memorable one!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emuhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cheap but it is the only quality”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Cheap but the service is lousy, the meat not very good, the portions not that big: basically one is attracted by the price but you get no more if less than what you paid for, and you smell when you leave as the vent is not efficient.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanielleODear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippopotamus also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Hippopotamus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing