We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place. Nothing special” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hippopotamus

Hippopotamus
Ranked #10,658 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, American, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Montparnasse
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent place. Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

A decent place to get a decent steak frites. It's a little loud, very crowded. When you go to Paris, with all the great selection of restaurants, you don't exactly want to end up at a factory-like franchise, but this is where we ended up.

The place is dark and noisy. The waitresses are busy running around. They're not rude, but they don't have much time to be friendly either. On the inadvertantly positive side, this was a good place to practice my French because our waitress didn't speak English and warned us up front. She said we could either take her service or wait half an hour for a server who did speak English. There are so few places for a foreigner to speak French (because the moment you speak even a little French, the Parisians will quickly take over in English) that this was a small favor in disguise.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThereWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    208
    198
    92
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boput
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fast service, good food, great price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We visited on a Sunday night when lots of restaurants in Paris are closed. They offer either a la carte or a fixed price menu for either 2 or 3 courses with a drink that was terrific value.

Food came within 10 minutes And was piping hot, fresh and tasty. The spring rolls were served with a salad and the burger and chips was massive with a choice of sauces. The creme brûlée was disappointing but perfectly edible.

Compared to most restaurants in the immediate boulevard du montparnasse area this was good value. There are lots of the chain nearby and are the French equivalent of the British Beefeater.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gracie_Grey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“long wait and orders messed up”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

The waiters and waitresses are good looking and that's all the positive feedback. We waited like an hour to get our food, the order was misplaced, the menu was too complicated to follow and they are absolutely not flexible about any change. Then we waited another hour for our bill, which wasn't right. We got overcharged and when we tried to talk about it, they suddenly didn't speak English anymore. Perfect location but a terrible place to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WojtekPaTaket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad service, over priced, mediocre food...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited the restaurant located close to the Montparnasse - Bienvennue Metro stop - there are a couple of these so I couldn't speak for the others. However I certainly wouldn't try any of the others based on our experience here. The service was rude and slow. The food took a long time to come... an hour until we got our mains, whilst diners who'd arrived after us were served much faster.

The mains were ok, not great. We ordered desert, however after a 30 minute wait for ice cream, we gave up and cancelled the order and asked for the bill. At which point we were brought the melted ice creams!!!! They did have the decency to give them free of charge, the only saving grace!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRedsSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
141 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Poor food, not a fun evening”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

I went here with 5 friends at their instance, as I am always wary of chain restaurants. Big mistake: although the place looked fine, the food was poor and service worse. We were told that there would be a 5 minute wait for a table, that turned out to be 20 minutes. The service was slow and several items were forgotten when the food was delivered. My steak was tough and flavourless, served with Sauce Bearnaise which tasted like glue. The only reasonable part of the meal was dessert - four small dishes of various things from the menu. Our evening ended with the staff vacuum cleaning the floor right next to our table while be had coffee!

Don't bother with this place. There are plenty of small restaurants in Paris which offer better food at the same price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidCl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippopotamus also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Hippopotamus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing