We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Forgetful staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Goumard

Goumard
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Goumard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,152 of 15,857 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Louvre / Palais-Royal
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Forgetful staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Ok, going to be blunt. Exhausted after our wedding so on day one of honeymoon headed across the road to this seafood restaurant from our hotel - Le Burgundy. Great food. Superior quality seafood and some genuine canny buys on the wine list. But the staff seemed to have their attention elsewhere. Forgot the crab from our seafood platter; took over 25 minutes to take our wine order; left the aioli on the table for half an hour before food arrived. Not sure what's going on in Goumard, but the quality of the food just doesn't correlate with the service. Such a shame! Adjacent Italian/French table (of 2!) had a bill of over €700 having ordered mega wine and even more splendid seafood platter...and they were treated just the same.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SDodgson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    147
    87
    66
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Over rated and poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food is only average but you'll pay $50 to $75 for your meal without drinks. And when they find out you are American, they'll stuff you in a corner and ignore you. I just returned from three weeks in France where I had many fabulous meals and many great experiences. This was not one of them.

This place seems to be very popular with the hotels and the concierges right now. The staff at our hotel strongly recommended this place and they seemed genuinely shocked when we said we didn't care for it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaPeery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“OVER-RATED”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

So disappointing. Our service was good. Food was adequate. So many better options in Paris!! Had the Dover Sole. Tasty but not deboned.

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food, not amazing.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went here for dinner on a Sunday night. For my starter I had the sushi rolls and for my main I had the cod and for desert we shared a choclate tart. Lovely tasting food, but I wouldnt say it was amazing. As usual in Paris, we were let down by the service. Staff were not very attentive - we were kept waiting, we had to top our own glasses up.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jellytotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Upper class Brasserie with good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Great location near our hotel, have the best seafood platter in our whole trip. All seafood super good and price resonable. Deco lovely and service great. Will go back when we back to Paris for sure.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goumard also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Goumard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing