We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint; cozy; sumpteous!”
Review of Chez Toinette

Chez Toinette
Ranked #61 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $47
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Montmartre
Daytona Beach area
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quaint; cozy; sumpteous!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Saw great reviews on trip advisor. We were party of 5 and were lucky to get table same day reservations. Seats 34; 1 chef, 1 server and it all worked like clockwork. Everything we ate, from the delicious scallop appertizer to the perfectly cooked duck breast to the amazing chocolate cake for dinner was just absolutely delicious!!!! EVeryone of us were happy we went and will surely eat there anytime we are in town. I dont know how the chef and the server/owner (Maza?) do it. They work so hard but took very good care of each patron. Oops, there goes my mouth watering up again.................mmmmmmmm

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank whammo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    953
    276
    56
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“up grade of 09 review. Now a favorite of both of us.”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Knowing that this place is popular, we had our conceriege from the Concorde Opera make a reservation before we arrived in Paris. Glad we did because we saw many walk-in's turned away disappointed. MAKE A RESERVATION!
Yes it is a small restaurant with tables crowded next to each other, but this is part of the ambiance of a Paris rest.
Warmly greeted by Jessica and seated at a 4 top, even tho there were 2 tops empty.
My wife skipped the starter, I had the pate with freshly sliced bread, very nice and with some texture, rather than the smooth pate you can get at most euro grocery stores.
For the mains, wife had the beef, properly cooked to order and very tender and sauced. I had the duck breast, also sauced, cooked properly (rare) and the largest duck breast I have ever seen. All served with a granitired potato dish- layered with cheese and cream--FAB! Also served with harico vert and two qunelles of carrot puree. Excellent veg.
They were out of wine buckets, Jessica kept our bottle in the frig, and was very good at replenishing our glasses.
When we did not finish our main course, Jessica asked Why? Our response "We are saving room for desert" Glad we did. Wife had the creame brulle- very good. I had the "half cooked chocolate cake" Their version of Molten Choco. Cake. Excellent, chocolate oozed out from the center and had a side of ice cream.
The place is popular. A lot of English speaking customers, but this reputation has not hurt the quality of the delicious food and friendly service.
Their web site seems to be down so here is the phone # 01 42 54 44 36. English is no problem.
Another tip: If you take the metro to Abessess stop- take the elevator to the street! You are DEEP underground and the many steps is a killer. Pigale metro is easier and almost as close.
Again this place is now, not just my wife's fav, but my favorite restaurant in Paris as well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank allesvoorjouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service:-)”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Food was excellent, the ambience was very French, and the service was top notch!:-) price is very reasonable for Paris and the food quality. Avoid elsewhere, and reservations recommended:-) would go back again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonv1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had an amazing time here.The service was excellent as was the atmosphere and I must say that I don't think I've had a nicer meal. Sensational - we will be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Eltin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best meal in Paris”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had an incredible meal here. Each course was fantastic- we ate snails and foie gras, veal & steak, creme brûlée and apple pie.

The atmosphere was great- lively and buzzing.

The service was brilliant, really friendly.

Next time we visit Paris we will definitely be visiting again. Book ahead.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Toinette also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Toinette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing