We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Brasserie”
Review of Chez Rene

Chez Rene
Reserve with
Chez Rene is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,645 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $88
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“True Brasserie”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great choices, truly authentic French Brasserie ambiance with locals dining, outstanding service...Duck rillette, Raviole are great....
We were recommended by someone & it was nice to see that the recommendation was accurate....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank esraparin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    130
    37
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Read review here and decided to visit. The staff were friendly and helpful. Great waiter. When busy it takes a little longer but not unusual for a Paris establishment. Had an excellent starter of white asparagus, great Hollandaise. Boeuf Bourguignon was disappointing; no flavor and thicken with too much flour.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great French Meal”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a great meal with a French friend who recommended the place. I was looking for Beef Bourgignon and this place was reputed to have the best in Paris and it was excellent. The service was friendly and efficient and the prices were not too high. The atmosphere is intimate and we had a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shenk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beef Bourgignon!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After wandering around the Latin Quarter for ages looking for an authentic bistro/brasserie I thought we were going to have to settle for a pizza or a chinese. In Paris! Luckily we stumbled upon this gem of a place which is about as authentic as you can get - I half expected to find Herr Flick sat outside in his fishnets sipping his pastis. I had the beef bourgignon which arrived with a few delicious boiled potatoes and a slice of bread with an ample portion of additional bourgignon in a little cast iron pot. It was excellent. Rachel had the duck. Washed it down with a bottle of house beaujolias between us all for a very reasonable 70 Euros including starters. The service was great, the host welcomed us straight away and didn't keep us waiting more than a couple of minutes for a table despite not having booked on a busy Saturday night. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubberneck71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit...or three!”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed Chez Rene so much in February 2013 we had dinner here 3 nights running! Classic french bistro food....egg and black truffle starter was truly spectacular...lovely and rich boeuf bourguignon...excellent steak frites with an awesome bernaise sauce....perfectly done frog legs. Service was terrific, extensive wine list that covered lower priced options to more expensive. Easily accessible on Blvd. St.Germain....we will definitely return!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinH382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Rene also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Rene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing