We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service like New York” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Marianne

Chez Marianne
Ranked #6,385 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $0 - $29
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Marais
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service like New York”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

The line at L'As du Fallafal was down-the-block, so we gave Chez Marianne a try. The greeting was brusque (once they got around to talking to us), and the seating was tight. Service was very matter-of-fact, but quick, and the waitress was willing to tolerate my French and continue in English for everyone's convenience.

The food was good -- not super-hot, but within reason. And the price was decent -- with half-a-bottle of house wine, the two of us ate for €35.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank watcher30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    402
    251
    133
    167
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nyons, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“best falafel in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I usually get the take-out falafel at lunchtime--a meal that will last for the entire day. During lunch, the place is so crowded that falafel is not permitted to be ordered at tables. Go inside, pay for your falafel, get your ticket and join the enormous but quick-moving line outside. If you want extra sauce or less sauce, simply ask when you get to the window. I'd recommend sticking with the balance they've chosen. Each "sandwich" is made to order while you wait. The eggplant salad that's included as part of the contents is especially distinctive. The owners are Moroccan Jews and they have decorated the exterior with marvelous paintings and sayings. When I eat inside, I like to mix the mixed salad platter--you pick and choose what you want. Everything comes with warm, fresh baked pita. The decor is funky and fun, the crowd an interesting and happy mix. The service is pleasant and the owners friendly. If you eat at a table during the lunch hour, be prepared for frenzied service and a rushed atmosphere. The bathroom is upstairs at the top of a very narrow, winding open staircase, which some people might find difficult to impossible to navigate. In pleasant weather, the re are outdoor tables. When you leave, note the plaque on the school next door which memorializes 40 young Jewish children, once students there, who were taken from the school and sent to the gas chambers during the War.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaF1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Every time in Paris ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

... we'll seek out Chez Marianne. Felafel plate filling enough for most of the day, and the pitas came to the table HOT out of the oven. Not just for tourists, it has a great local feel. Can also get your felafel "to go" and find a quaint spot in Le Marais to sit, savor, and take it all in.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Falafel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had read about L'As du Felafel and so we searched out this street after visiting the Flower and Bird Market near Notre Damn on Sunday morning. Unfortunately L'As du Felafel was closed so we opted for this place. Inside was very busy so we decided to get the falafel with salad and pitta for 5.50E and the falafel was lovely but the aubergine salad on top was really cold and we didn´t really like that at all, maybe at room temperature it would have been better. All around the restaurant are Jewish shops and restaurants so it was quite interesting to wander around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bc2rlh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, superb value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Had a great evening at Chez Marianne with friends We had an astounding amount of food- (its like like a cross between meze and tapas) , two bottles of wine, coffees and liqueurs for a total bill of €120 for four adults. The staff are just lovely and the atmosphere is great. It is deservedly popular. Will be going again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Marianne also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Marianne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing