We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Marcel

Chez Marcel
Ranked #116 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wait staff very friendly and spoke english with us. Seemed to be more english speaking tourist at the time and all the staff spoke english and were very patient and helpful. Food was very good and we were lucky enough to sit next to a lovely couple from the US. Highly recommend this nice bistro. You will need reservations for early dinning. It was full when we ate mid week.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vic-Kaylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    157
    28
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Stone, VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“C'est Manifique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Led to this cosy bistros by other TA reviews and had a wonderful experience! Delicious country food, warm and helpful service, fairly priced wines. It was a great experience from a-z!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Authentic without Attitude”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Authentic French food -- coq au vin was excellent, as was the braised pork belly. The staff is warm and welcoming -- they speak some English and we all laughed together as we used our minimal French to understand the specials and order. The restaurant is small and very popular, so definitely make a reservation, especially on the weekend.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the hotel across the street and the staff recommended this authentic Parisien restaurant. And we were not disappointed. Food very tasty and traditional cuisine with fantastic local atmosphere. We were the only tourists there which was a nice change for the fancy restaurants near Champs Elysee. This was also good value for money and the best meal we had during our 4 day stay in Paris.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Mette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am about to make a lot of French friends mad at me. They would prefer that the restaurant stay known only to them. Really good food at reasonable prices. Nice wine list . Booking an absolute must. Typical bistro setting and atmosphere. Quaint. Total of maybe 25 seats. The way to the restroom is through the kitchen door.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nyoka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Marcel also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Marcel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing