We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No value for money... Stay AWAY” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Ly

Chez Ly
Ranked #6,181 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No value for money... Stay AWAY”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

No value for money... Went there for dinner and left hungry... $5.50 for one bowl of rice... What a ripoff... Numerous waiters and just chatting.... Stay AWAY

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeddySyd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    50
    33
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paris
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good luck!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Went here today for lunch after reading some reviews. I was the third customer in the restaurant. Fr the start I was treated like someone who was bothering the staff. I had to ask for a menu. I them had to ask for the "formule" menu. Waiter actually sneered at me. The lunch menu was €26. In 10 years in Paris that is the most expensive Chinese lunch menu I've came across. No problem. I don't mind paying for good food. However for that price I may as well eat a la carte. The nems (spring rolls) were €18. There is NO justification for that. None. I asked for Bo bun (my favourite). I was told I could only order it as an accompaniment. I eat Bo bun as a main course or starter every week. At this poInt I gave up and left. Awful, rude, service (ps I speak french), ridiculously expensive prices and no atmosphere. Good luck.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank shep66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in Paris (and way beyond)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Made to fell very welcome right from the time we walked through the door. Great food and very good prices. Try the filet beef with onions; large succulent and very tender pieces of beef in a peppery onion sauce. So good that we went back again a few days later. Madame Ly is a star.

Dog friendly.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Gourmet chinese food and not expensive at all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Would highly recommend this chinese restaurant to fellow travellers. Friendly,helpful and efficient staffs who would take time to explain the menu to you. Try their set lunch and set dinner ranging from 9.90 Euros to 12.90 Euros. Very reasonable as portions are quite a lot and makes you quite full after a bit. Not to mention it's the kind of gourmet spread that you normally see in an expensive chinese restaurant. Due to the proximity of our apartment to this restaurant, we visited this restaurant at least five times in our 2 weeks of stay in Paris. Last but not least don't miss out on their famous peking duck specials but you need to make 1 day advance booking for this dish. Certainly worth the wait and effort..it's prepared like the hong kong style with dumpling/pancake skin with salad and sweet dark sauce...simply mouth watering and scrumptious. For $49 Euros it's really worth the buck...the remaining duck meat can be used for noodles or rice and fried with other dishes and guess what all the other dishes that I mentioned is also included in the 49 Euros pricing. My family couldn't finish all the dishes on our own and even had to takeaway the remaining dishes back for another meal. Excellent food and value for money too!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tan090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good affordable, quality Chinese & Thai food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

This is one of those little beauties that everyone would like to have in the neighbourhood: a reliable chinese/thai restaurant that provides quality food, efficient service at a good price.

We visited this restaurant twice in our visit to Paris as it was across the road from our apartment.

The vietnamese spring rolls were great with a sesame-based chili sauce that was lovely.

Clean, efficient and good quality at a good price with lots to choose from.

We'd make it a regular haunyt if we were staying longer in Paris.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IanA63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Ly also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Ly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing