We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic”
Review of Chez l'Ami Louis

Chez l'Ami Louis
Ranked #5,836 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notre Dame / Marais
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have been to Ami Louis more than dozen times and I have always had a great experience. Yes, you get a little disappointed when you get the check, but apart from that, food is always solid, great chicken, amazing foie gras and spectacular wine selection. The only regret that I have when I dinner at L'amis Louis is the extra miles I need to run in the next morning. Love this place!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lkolo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    87
    54
    46
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
104 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“This chicken will change your life”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Off the beaten path this is one of the hangouts for celebrities who don't want people bugging them and just want a great, expensive meal. We saw Pierce Brosnon (007) in that night--no photos allowed.
This place is known for its chicken. Chicken is $85 euros and worth every penny. Yes, it will change your life. Get the chicken and pomes frites and you be good. We also had snails and foie gras and it was too much. Wine book is enormous and unless you know your French wines you will be lost in it. Just ask for a recommendation. The service here is not warm so be prepared. They aren't rude, just used to locals and regulars so when folks like us wander in we were somewhat dismissed. By the way, reservations are a MUST. We could only get a 10:30pm spot for four. Yes, 10:30 and $85E chicken but I am telling you, worth it if you are a foodie. Stay away if you are not a foodie.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Just go for the food”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We walked into the restaurant pretty late on a Sunday (it was about 11pm) and we were told they wouldnt be able to seat us. All the tables were taken (mostly by Americans) which surprised me coz i had heard it was a french place. Luckily we managed to sweet talk them a bit and got the last table by the window. The service is not that great, you can tell the difference with how the waiters treat the French customers and the non French. But i didnt really care because i was there for the food. The roast chicken and shoe string french fries to be precise... We started out with the Escargot, which were huge and very flavorful, the plate was very large and that was probably the only meal we should have had! We then had the Roast chicken which was very good, the fries were not to my liking but my boyfriend loved them. And top it all off we had a plate of mixed berries with cream; the cream was excellent, not too sweet and not too fluffy as i hate that sort of texture. We had to ask for the bill several times and every time the waiter would say "j'arrive, j'arrive" (im coming) but he continued to fold sheets and put fruit in a basket that we eventually had to ask another waiter to get us the bill. If you can put up with the French pretentiousness a bit then do give this place a try.. its cute and cosy but the service is lame.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank possiblebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torreon, Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very bad service extremely expensive”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The food was ok. The service bad, the price was so so expensive. And the place bad.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Javierlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“When the French are rude there is no one like them!”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Through the concierge of our hotel a reservation was made for lunch at 1:30 PM for a party of six. What was our surpirse when we arrived and were told there was no such reservation. Obviously it is a busy time in Paris and we are simply considered "disposable". The Metre was rude and couldn't care less that we did have a reservation. Bottom line, I am never going back to this restaurant and will tell all my contacts and acquaintances the same. With so many excellent places to eat in Paris there is no reason to put up with such behavior.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank cdelrioch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez l'Ami Louis also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez l'Ami Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing