We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great service... .”
Review of L'Ami Jean

L'Ami Jean
Ranked #747 of 21,414 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $33
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gros-Caillou
Description: L'Ami Jean is a Parisian restaurant. Chef Stephane Jego, born in Britain, wanted to keep some of the BASQ identity ue of the restaurant when he resumed teaching in 2002, and made ​​it one of the jewels of the trend of the gastro-bistro capital. Trained by Yves Camdeborde to Regalade in the 90s, Stephan started to stand on its own feet ten years later to provide insider unique culinary experiences, sincere and renewed. Because the constant questioning is his credo. Around a cohesive team, it offers exceptional products through recipes (re) invented daily, always claiming a special relationship with many producers. The restaurant is open from Tuesday to Saturday.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The servers were funny and attentive. You sit in family style long tables. My wifes food was great while my meat dishes were good not great (maybe I ordered wrong dishes but I ate three dishes). Just on ambiance alone would say its a great place to visit. . .very lively place. Would come back and try something different.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ledezmacjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This isn't fine French dining, but more a local neighborhood restaurant with a very cozy(slightly cramped) seating. The service was great with a great English explanation of the dishes. We enjoyed our meal and wine.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BradAWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped for lunch between museums on a family weekend visit to Paris. Really delicious food and very friendly, fun service. Beef shoulder and veal cheek were worth a return visit. As were the house specialties of cheese soup and rice pudding. Welcoming to our kids was a bonus. It is not a bargain but we were planning takeout pizza for dinner so...

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank SFB6812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can only reiterate what a lot of the reviews say here. Great food with cool atmosphere and fun staff. The only drawback is a lot of foreigners are drawn to the place, making it feel somewhat less "authentic" but the food speaks for itself and should not be missed. We had a fantastic and memorable meal we will not soon forget.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank kalsched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It had been recommended by a friend, and I see why. Good, inventive food - I had the octopus starter, the lamb shank and the rice pudding. Good portion size. No Gallic stuffiness here - the waiters are friendly and irreverent - ours told me he learned his impressive English skills from Game of Thrones and Breaking Bad. Not a white table cloth place - more of the gastropub feel, but at the same time, it wasn't over the top - edible wasn't sacrificed to inventive, and enjoyable wasn't sacrificed to frenetic. Absolutely not inexpensive, but I did't feel pillaged when i got the check either.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Oskar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ami Jean also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Ami Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing