We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Basque in Paris”
Review of L'Ami Jean

L'Ami Jean
Ranked #410 of 17,424 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Description: L'Ami Jean is a Parisian restaurant. Chef Stephane Jego, born in Britain, wanted to keep some of the BASQ identity ue of the restaurant when he resumed teaching in 2002, and made ​​it one of the jewels of the trend of the gastro-bistro capital. Trained by Yves Camdeborde to Regalade in the 90s, Stephan started to stand on its own feet ten years later to provide insider unique culinary experiences, sincere and renewed. Because the constant questioning is his credo. Around a cohesive team, it offers exceptional products through recipes (re) invented daily, always claiming a special relationship with many producers. The restaurant is open from Tuesday to Saturday.
Berkeley, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Basque in Paris”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Got in for a late lunch, no reservation. We were sat at the last table near the kitchen and enjoyed all the meals going out for service. Because we were the last table seated for lunch, the menu was limited to the 'chefs' choice. Loved it! As the only Americans in for lunch, thought we would get stiffed. Nope, the chef and wait staff treated us like we ate there every week. Food was awesome! Then rice pudding is something beyond words. Don't miss it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    543
    207
    76
    55
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Visited the restaurant on a Saturday lunch time.
42€ for 3 courses.
quality of the products is second to none, foie gras on starter AND main course.
unbelievable value for money in Paris in my opinion, you eat for double that in Michelin star establishments and no where near as well.
Service was efficient, bistrot style.
Kitchen is open, and an experience in itself. The chef/patron is on the pass, plating but also yelling at his young commis scrambling behind him! and also at the front of house staff, just like in the old days!
Would go back over and over.

Helpful?
2 Thank Phil-MeUppp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Eclectic, Wonderful Food, Great Experience”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were at chez L'ami Jean for my daughter's birthday. It is an experience! The restaurant is on a side street and not much to look at from the exterior. There are two seatings - at 7 (very early for Paris) and 9. There was a motorcycle accident en route, so we arrived about 15 minutes late. We were admonished by the hostess, who told us that we now only had an hour and a half for dinner and could not order the tasting menu (she told us she felt sorry for us). (I think she was kidding, but not entirely sure.) Dinner starts when a "tub" (meatloaf sized) of pork pate was summarily deposited on our table and a knife was stuck in the middle. We were three people and could not have eaten that much pate in three years! We ordered the parmesan soup, which was, in a word, heavenly, the scallops appetizer and a mushroom orzo made in risotto style. Everything was spectacular. We were seated in the front booth and we had a great time with our wait staff who were fun, funny and engaging. Our entrees were the chateaubriand, which was huge (enough for 6 large men, no lie) and good, but a fattier cut than I am used to. We also had scallops on the half shelf prepared in the oven. We finished with the house special, rice pudding, which sounds pedestrian, but, trust me, is not! Clearly the chef is accomplished, and rules the restaurant. At one point, there was a good bit of yelling from the kitchen, and our appetizer plates were quickly whisked away. The chef was angry at the staff as our entrees were ready and he did not want our food to be served cold! (It was not, be assured).

We had a great experience here and I highly recommend it. Food was great. Prices were reasonable. The wait staff was fun and witty. I wish we could return tomorrow. (BTW, no bar or outdoor seating, at least in October, although the window was open and we enjoyed the breeze).

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vail2Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended to us by a chef in Portland. Excellent traditional bistro food. The house pâté was exceptional. Reservations are a must as there is little or no chance for a walk in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LOCheydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great atmosphere, good food.”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have been to L'Ami Jean two times this year, once in the early spring and once in early October.
They served different kind of food according to the seasons.
The temperature of the food was as it should be, the atmosphere was warm , cozy and vibrant, and the service was efficient.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferWSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ami Jean also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Ami Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing