We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good bread, maybe good oysters”
Review of Chez Francis

Chez Francis
Reserve with
Chez Francis is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8,113 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
california
Level Contributor
183 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Convenient, good bread, maybe good oysters”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Good oyster menu but I didn't get to try. Bread was good, cheese plate was good. Rest of food not so great - not a lot of flavor, not very well presented. Service a bit slow. So disappointing since it was the only crowded place amongst the restaurants close to the theatre.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank californiawithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    343
    237
    184
    177
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good food . . . with just a hint of attitude.”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

You know, I think I'm starting to get it. If I had a constant flow of tourists coming through my establishment day after day after day . . . well I think I might start getting a little cranky too. But I have to say that, while I could sense they weren't necessarily thrilled with our presence, all of the service staff we encountered at Chez Francis were utterly professional and certainly courteous enough that it in no way put a damper on out dining experience. And with all that being said, and a surprisingly large number of mixed reviews regarding this restaurant, I am here to report that the food was very, very good. We ate at a lot of very good restaurants in Paris, and this one was right there with any of them. I had the lamb shank – it was fall off the bone tender and simply delicious. Hence the 4 star rating, because it really should be all about the food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beantown_Connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange City, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing view, good food”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our second trip to Paris and we enjoyed this restaurant so much we went back. It has a great view of the Eiffel at night! Our food was very good and the service was excellent. Our only problem was that we asked for a recommendation for wine and ordered accordingly. We found out later that this bottle was 118 euros. My brain doesn't even go there to spend that much for wine! We had a lovely evening regardless and have a story to tell and laugh about. The menu is a bit pricey, but I would still go back again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
548 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Dinner Night”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel staff recommended this restaurant since we were coming off a river cruise. The food and wine was expensive - it's Paris. The food was very average and marginally cooked to what we asked for. The wait staff was very attentive and friendly. The view of the Eiffel Tower is great. We went at night. The tower was lit up which made for some ambiance while we ate. Easy access to public transportation if on foot. We were not displeased, but it was pricey.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great view of Eiffel Tower while having coffee and dessert.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had expresso and shared dessert while sitting outdoors with a great view of the Eiffel Tower. For about 10 minutes on the hours, the Eiffel Tower lights up. A beautiful way to end a day in Paris. Service was great! They do not mind how long you sit there enjoying the view. The restaurant was full and the food looked good while walking through; however, we had dinner earlier and did not dine here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londabarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Francis also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Francis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing