We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great brunch - every course gets better! Leave room for desert”
Review of Chez Casimir

Chez Casimir
Ranked #1,885 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Barbados
Level Contributor
277 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great brunch - every course gets better! Leave room for desert”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Ate here for lunch but didn't realise it was brunch only. €28 euros each - but eat as much as you can and food is lovely and high quality. Have a stand of cold food (fish, quiche, pâté etc) plus bring out hot soup, fish and the lovely slow cooked beef. Deserts were amazing - highlights were passion fruit creme brûlée and the chocolate torte! Great selection of wines (has a cabinet with c180 in it) - Yummy. For brunchers who like quality food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haribo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    191
    52
    36
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excelent brunch!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

5 min walk from Gare du Nord, this brunch restaurant offers all you can eat buffet, with fine products. Excellent value for the money. Wished I had more space for the absolutely wonderful dessert table (bigger than the brunch table!). Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Kind of hidden off Blvd de Magenta just a short walk from Gate Du Bord is this tiny little spot that is a cross between a neighborhood care and a 5 star restaurant. Very limited sweating buy high quality good and service. Deems like a two.man show out front but the service is quick and smart. No ala carts buy a variety of choices of starters entrees and dessert or multiple combinations of the 4. The food was fast fresh and beautifully prepared and between the main course and dessert an outstanding choices of cheese was brought to sample included in your total. Just can say enough they did not have English menus but waiter was very good about holding our hand and explained it all. Well worth the trip.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cozdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really get a bang for your buck”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We ate there as a group on a Wednesday night. The food was very good and the cheese plate they bring out is impressive! Their menu was affordable for everything you were getting and the wine was delicious and abundant. I would recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
369 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Superb food and atmosphere close to Gare du Nord”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We ate in Chez Casimir on Sunday afternoon before we caught the Eurostar back to London. It is tucked out of the way, but very close to the station which was really handy. We booked the day before for 2.30pm and we were told that the only seats available were at the bar. We agreed as we were keen to try it after reading good reviews. When we arrived on Sunday we were directed to a table which we were very pleased about. As with many places, the tables are squashed together but it did not spoil our experience. The brunch which is served at the weekends was great, although we were a little confused about what we had to do, so were helped by a friendly fellow diner. We started with the buffet which included bread, salad, cheese, paté, herrings, snails and much more. It all seemed home-made and was delicious. Then we had soup, omelette and smoked salmon brought to the table, then a steaming stew of wild boar. After that we helped ourselves to a huge dessert buffet, again everything was good. It was great value at €26. For the wine, we got the bottle from the 'cellar' ourselves. We fancied something refreshing and not too expensive and found a Loire sparkling wine for €11 which again was great value. You take the bottle to the bar to have it opened and collect wine glasses. We were told by our fellow diner that the bottles are shop prices on a Sunday. The service of the guys working there was very efficient, yet warm and friendly.The place had a lovely buzzy atmosphere and we thought that the food and value were really excellent. We were so glad we booked ahead and highly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SCSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Casimir also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Casimir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing