We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate but don't expect too much”

Cafe Les Deux Magots
Ranked #813 of 17,407 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: It is located on the Left Bank of the Seine and is a wonderful and very famouns Cafe/Restaurant. I am very surprised it cannot be found on your web site.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Adequate but don't expect too much”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The waiters can be rude but this is a well known institution so there will always be tourists entering into this environment. We had an outdoor seating for ambience over a glass of wine, the experience was lovely but one could be sitting any outdoor cafe in Paris and feeling like that. As an experienced traveller to the city, I would go to this establishment if someone had suggested a meeting there, otherwise I'd look for quieter surrounding where I can absorbe Paris in my own pace.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintPaulDeVence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,515 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    1,046
    448
    166
    127
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overrated but a must do”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is an institution on the Left Bank. A longtime hang out for writers and artists, the place looks like you can still see them sitting there. As others have said, the food is average. Service was what I call Paris Cafe service. It would be rude in the states, but normal in Paris. Not rude, but they move at their own pace, disappear to smoke, and ignore you until you flag them down. That said, you can nurse a coffee all afternoon and they don't care.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stunningly Rude Service”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been returning many years to this "institution". The location and history of Les Deux Magots are the main attractions. Food is average and over-priced; service has been at times good and professional but it can often be bad and indifferent. Our last visit was over the top rude; involving a surly and obviously angry waiter, missing bread requested twice (necessary with a ham plate), and a formerly delicous salad changed into something more suitable for a cafeteria. Not the end of the world, but there are too many other wonderful places to enjoy in Paris.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtheresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Still a Parisian institution”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Granted this classic cafe parisien comes historically charged. It's also well placed in St Germain and is replete with rude waiters, cramped quarters and is good for people watching. The food is average at best, but who's there for the culinary experience? Against one's better judgment it has a certain pull. But here's an important caveat: Two friends were recently pick pocketed there, so hold onto your wallets as you while away the day reading Baudrillard or debating what exactly are magots?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience at Les Deux Magots”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

My mom and I spent some time in Paris over the holidays/New Years and we ended up having dinner at this cafe twice. Out of all of our dining experiences, the times we spent at Les Deux Magots were my favourite. Our hotel was in the same arr. (6th) and this section where the restaurant is situated, across from the church, is one of the most lovely, gorgeous spots and one of my personal favourites in all of Paris. It leads in to even more lovely streets...absolutely beautiful. The inside was lovely too - it has a very classy atmosphere so while it may cost more then some of the more casual cafes, it rightly should. Our food was excellent...I had scallops, risotto, veggies (extra), 2 glasses of wine and dessert one night which I believe cost me somewhere around $80. I had the duck the second time along with all the rest and I think the price was similar. There seem to be alot of complaints on price which I don't quite understand - maybe it's just because I'm from a big city and we are used to paying a fair bit for fine dining. I suppose if you aren't used to that at all you will find it pricey, but its all relative. I found nothing outrageous about the prices. Service was quick, atmosphere was lovely and food was absolutely delicious. Also, didn't find it touristy whatsoever - we were the only English speaking people in the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Les Deux Magots also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Cafe Les Deux Magots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing