We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience”
Review of Caffe Stern

Caffe Stern
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 5/23
8:00 PM
Ranked #589 of 20,710 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Vivienne
Description: “A historical French landmark with the flavors of Italy” Caffè Stern, located in the heart of Paris inside the Passage des Panoramas, is the brainchild of the Alajmo brothers and Gianni Frasi, a fourth-generation coffee roaster from Verona. Housed inside a landmark letterpress shop, Caffè Stern was brought back to life thanks to designer Philippe Starck. Open all day, visitors can stop by for an olive oil brioche in the morning and return later in the day for Venetian-style “cicchetti” like baccalà mantecato (whipped stockfish) with fried polenta squares. The lunch and dinner menu features Italian classics revisited by Max Alajmo like spaghetti alla Carbonara or a “cappuccino” made with potato puree and Bolognese meat ragu.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

I had already been there a few times and it had never been a deception. The las time was a simply a great treat. We had several starters to share and they were all impressive by they simple sophistication and exploding flavors. Service was like a smiling and friendly ballet with simple and effective explanations of each course. Pastas with different flavors and season vegetables. A beauty...Main course was also a treat: a veal incredibly tender cooked to perfection. Different sorbets to end and refresh our palate. Everything was perfect and, even if the restaurant was full, we had a sans faute service. All this in a beautiful decoration which kept the soul of the old print house. A must for Italian cuisine

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Verneuil13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 391 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2018 via mobile

The personnel was fantastic and very knowledgable about the history of the place. They went over and beyond to show us this French monument with such passion that was impossible to don’t give any appreciation of the job done.

This is the true Italian style!

Politesse oblige, they are true Italians in the heart of Paris!

I highly recommend the Tiramisu and the coffee!

L’unico caffé italiano meglio dell’Italia a Parigi!

Una crema!!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank P4799PEandreab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Original place.
Trendy but very good food !
Very modern and original Italian food.
Warm welcome and good service.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank chekibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2018

I must say we were rather skeptic when we firstly saw the place. It looked like more a sort of a fancy coffee shop, in a general sense of the word, than a restaurant but as soon as the first course arrived, all our previous doubts disappeared. Actually we recognized the same sort of products we already had at the excellent restaurant Calandrino, small brother of the famous three-starred Calandre in Padua, so we could not find a better fine Italian dining place in Paris. Please don't expect a traditional cantina style food but a refined cooking Italian food. If you like it, this the place to go whenever in Paris.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Charming decor, romantic and private. Delicious food, wide proposal. nice wine list. service attentive, young and sincere, very hard to be found in high ended restaurants in Paris. Chef and Restaurant Manager helpful and cordial.
Not to be missed: beef tartare with rose cream, spaghetti with smoked butter and caviar.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MAffleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caffe Stern also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Caffe Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing