We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining experience ever”
Review of Les Ambassadeurs - CLOSED

Les Ambassadeurs
Price range: $145 - $246
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Counts of Crillon's former ballroom now hosts a gastronomic restaurant, acknowledged to be one of the best dining venues in the city. The place is grand and majestic, impressive in its scope as well as in the splendour of its Louis XV decoration, performed at the time by architect Ange-Jacques Gabriel: marble marquetry made of six different varieties, sumptuous crystal chandeliers, frescoes on the ceiling. In 2011, the restaurant has received its first Michelin star, awarded to its young and talented Chef Christopher Hache and his team.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best dining experience ever”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I was lucky enough to be taken for lunch as a birthday treat and although expensive it will remain in my memory for a long time to come.We opted for the 68 euro set lunch and added a bottle of 65 euro wine from the extensive list. We were seated at the window overlooking the Place de la Concorde a lovely landmark in itself.The dining room is exceptional with all the gilt and cherubs it truly is the most beautiful I've ever dined in. The staff had an exceptional degree of professionalism and matched the surroundings.I could not have asked for more our waiters explained the courses and were very welcoming.
The food exceeded expectations the salmon and foie gras starters were wonderful as was the main of pigeon and spelt the pigeon was perfectly pink before dessert there was a sorbet palate cleanser which came in a sweetie wrapper which was a pleasant quirk. We decided to have a cheese course and I can honestly say the Brie was to die for my husband & I still speak about it today. Overall our experience lasted almost 3.5 hours and we didn't want to leave it was so good Christopher Hache introduced himself which was a nice touch can't wait to return best 200 euros we've spent

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HGCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    25
    13
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“A Very Special Place”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our first visit since the removal of the facade saw us seated at a window table gazing out over Place de la Concorde on a sparkling Paris evening. The magnificent dining room is breathtaking and supported by the perfect service of the consummately professional staff, including the liveried new staff trotting obediently after their well trained seniors, happily transporting trays with plates to and from the tables. My entree of a beef carpaccio of "Australian Kobe Beef"??? was scarlet marbled and melt in the mouth delicious. The Foie Gras is served spectacularly , being removed from its pastry cocoon, carved on the trolley and the juice spread over it. Great theatre. My mundane main course of steak, although perfectly cooked, could never match the opening performance even supported by a well matched Chateau Neuf de Pape. Finishing off with exquisite deserts accompanied by a straw coloured Trockenbeerenauslese our evening was complete. Price is irrelevant in the face of such a gastronomic experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnR63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Les Ambassadeurs, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for this comment about Les Ambassadeurs.
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“An institution in Paris”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We ate here to celebrate our wedding anniversary.
The food list is not that extensive but there is everything for every kind
of taste buds.
The food was cooked to purrrrfection.
A must go for connoisseurs of good food and excellent service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodievalletta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Les Ambassadeurs, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for this feedback.
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was a romantic dinner to scape from our children. From time to time is good just a little bit of romance. I was wearing a golden skirt and i felt like Cindirella eating with my prince. We had a somelier. And he gave good advise. The wine list is long and most bootles are aboce 170eur but you can also find some of 60 eur. I had a sweet amuse-bouche followed by abalone, monkfish and tiramisu. The bill comes with some sweets, like maccarons. We had the 150 eur menu and it was enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morena_del_sur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Les Ambassadeurs, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Great comment thank you very much.
Luc Delafosse
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“So very close to perfect”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

On recommendation, we treated ourselves to a Michelin star meal in Paris. A luncheon menu allowed us to sample a three course meal at Les Ambassadeurs at 68 Euros/head, no more than the cost of a very average meal in home-town Sydney.

While the luncheon menu is limited to two choices per course, both my wife and I were able to select dishes that we liked and, per chance, between us we crossed off everything on the menu.

The food was superb. Wonderfully cooked and imaginatively presented. The courses were well spaced without leaving us twiddling our thumbs, yet 2 hours passed too quickly.

The service was a case study in attentiveness and efficiency, without being overbearing or pretentious. Note to Australian hospitality staff - please take a quick trip to Paris and see how it is meant to be done!

And the oppulence of the dining room, set in Hotel Crillon overlooking Place de la Corncorde, is breathtaking. Louise XIV would feel right at home.

One caution. While the set menu is excellent value, your drinks can rapidly blow out the cost of the meal. Les Ambassadeurs sports a wonderful wine list but finding a wine under 100 Euro/bottle is a challenge - how many wine lists boast wines at 5000 Euro?

All up not only a great meal but a wonderful experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lucdelafosse, Directeur général at Les Ambassadeurs, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you very much for this feedback.
Luc Delafosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Ambassadeurs also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing