We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Memorable Meal Ever”
Review of Le Cinq

Le Cinq
Reserve with
Le Cinq is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 17,770 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $150 - $500
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband and I ate lunch here on our honeymoon and it was an absolutley unforgettable experience. The hotel and the restaurant are amazing, the decor is grand and luxurious and surroundings elegant.

The lunch menu was a great way for us to try out the restaurant (around 100 Euro/person), when we wouldn't usually be able to afford the dinner menu.

The set lunch menu consisted of 2 choices for each course, with 3 courses in total, it would be nicer if there was 3 choices as you are restricted if there is one choice that you don't like. I don't think the set lunch menu is displayed on the website but we emailed the restaurant and recieved confirmation that it was available. The food was excellently thought out and served immaculately. We had ordered the 3 course lunch menu howeve the meal consisted of amuse Bouche, Pre Starters, Bread, Starter, Main Course, Cheese Course (15 euro extra), dessert and then the sweet trolley and coffee!

The somellier helped us choose a reasonably priced bottle of wine to go with our meal, without any embarassment or fussing.

The waiters deserve an extra special mention, they were reserved and serious and proffessional without being stand-offish or stuck up, and even engaged in a little conversation at appropriate times. I even recieved a little stool for my handbag to sit on! Our waiter had an appreciation that we were not regulars to this type of restaurant and that the visit to Le Cinq was a special occasion visit and made us feel absolutly comfortable throughout the meal (some rather rich and arrogant diners on the next table troffed their way through a 3 michelin star meal whilst talking on their mobile phones throughout!!!)

When we mentioned we were on honeymoon we were presented with a small gift of a book with the best restaurants around the world and some sweets to take home with us 'for emergencies'!! We even got to meet the chef towards the end of the service!!

The bill at the end of the meal wasn't huge either and we were in the restaurant for over 3 hours in all. I would definatly book a meal like this again for a special occasion, a real memory maker place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Romsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsgeorgev, Manager at Le Cinq, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience in our restaurant Le Cinq!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch and appreciated every moment of it! Furthermore, we are pleased to read that you appreciated our staff as well as the service.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Warmest regards,
Antoine Corneille
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 572 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

This place is beautiful and the food is excellent, but it's the staff that really elevate the experience. Every single person we encountered from the moment we walked into the George V hotel was absolutely lovely. The waiters were unfailingly attentive, helpful, gracious and sweet throughout our entire meal (and all the way to the coat room), making this our most wonderful night in Paris.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We recently dined here and found both the food and service to be excellent! If you're going to Paris and want a top quality meal with exceptional service, head straight here. It's more casual than many would imagine; though we dressed up - black tie - for the occasion and didn't feel out of place. The venison was a particular highlight with the sommelier suggesting excellent wines and the chef amending menus to suit our tastes. The seaweed butter is also fantastic! To many great dishes to mention as we both thought they were all outstanding. The best Four Seasons meal I've ever had, and that's quite a compliment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WestLaytonManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsgeorgev, Manager at Le Cinq, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience in our restaurant Le Cinq!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your experience with us and appreciated every moment of it! Furthermore, it is a great honor for us to read that, for you, both the food and the service were “excellent”.
Your comment is very important to us and we will make sure to share it with our teams.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Warmest regards,
Antoine Corneille
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the perfect dining experience. The meal itself is incredible - every dish prepared perfectly - a terrific combination of traditional french cooking with modern innovation. Service is perfect - attentive but friendly, formal but not oppressively so, just the perfect combination of service and privacy. The physical space is beautiful. 3.5 hours felt like a very brief dinner - sad to see the night end. Highly recommend Le Cinq.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ajmia111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsgeorgev, Manager at Le Cinq, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience in our restaurant Le Cinq!
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the food, the décor and our service. It is a great honor for us to read that, for you, “this is the perfect dining experience”.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Warmest regards,
Antoine Corneille
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We celebrated my boyfriend's birthday at the restaurant. It was the most enjoyable dinner we have ever had. We tried other star restaurants, in France and in other countries, yet Le Cinq stands out. It should be a 3 star really.

First of all, jacket is provided for the unprepared, just like other 3 star restaurants. We arrived half an hour earlier than the restaurant opening time, we were encouraged to order some drinks and snacks while waiting, and within 15 minutes, we were seated.

We had the tasting menu. Endless number of small delicate dishes as usual, each of them wow-ed us. The salted butter with seaweed is a nice little surprise. From starter, to first course, to main course, to cheese, to dessert, every bite was a beautiful journey.

What I appreciate the most is the service. Every server is tentative and energetic and makes us feel extremely comfortable and welcome. Before my visit, I sent an email to the restaurant and ask for this special request of a millefeuille birthday pastry for my boyfriend. It is not on the dessert menu but Le Cinq have the patry chef made one for us, with special message written on a piece of chocolate. This is such a nice personal touch that I am really grateful for.
The Polaroid picture is a nice touch as well.

We will return to le cinq in our next visit to Paris for sure. We look forward to it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tracy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsgeorgev, Manager at Le Cinq, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Madam,
We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience in our restaurant Le Cinq!
We are delighted to read that you appreciated your lunch at Le Cinq and that for you, "it was the most enjoyable dinner we ever had". Furthermore, it is a great reward to hear that you appreciated the service as well as our staff.
We hope to welcome you back again soon to the Cinq!
Warmest regards,
Antoine Corneille
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cinq also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Cinq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing