We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Anahuacalli

Anahuacalli
Ranked #2,764 of 16,839 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $21 - $27
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
voyageurpar
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice mexican”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a nice mexican restaurant. The food is good with the real taste of mexican food. What I don't like is that they charge you for each nacho you ask and that they serve an absurd small quantity of sauce (one tiny thing with green sauce and one tiny thing with red sauce). I mean, sauces are very important on a mexican restaurant and they serve them as if there was not enough tomatoes or chiles in Paris, c'mon!!! Of course you can always ask for more but it's difficult to get the waitress attention, and they are a little bit slow.
Anyway, as I said at the beginning tha food is good and it's worth the price (for elaborated typical dishes), if you want something more simple like "tacos" with a good sauce you better go to El Guacamole (same owner) or to El Nopal.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank voyageurpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    116
    52
    43
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent margarita”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I've been in this restaurant several times over the years. The margarita is constantly at the top and the quality of food is always good, not heavy, delicate and spicy, well balanced. The staff is kind and the atmosphere is very pleasant, although the restaurant is always crowded (book a table!). Compared to Paris standards, prices are OK (the margarita is expensive, but worth it). Keep in mind that it is not a cheap restaurant, though. There are cheaper mexican restaurants in the neighborhood, but the quality of food is definitely much lower.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liuba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“$75 for a Margarita pitcher!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Who comes to Paris for Mexican food?!
Whatever, this is so not the place you want.
Here you'll find sub average cafeteria quality mexican food, obviously mass produced & pre prepared, accompany hugely overpriced and somewhat undersized pitchers of margaritas, tasty, but oh so expensive, just like the entire menu.
Sure, go ahead, order another pitcher, it's the best way to have a good time at this faux friendly place where the turkey mole is dry, the 'Aztec' food as authentic as my French, and the salsa is served in thimble size cups, about enough for two of their stale tortilla chips.
Ole!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Petexyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
175 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I have visited this restaurant twice and I can not say a bad word about my visits.

The place is ideally located, Just on the opposite side of the river siene at the rear of the Notre dame so located near the latin quarter for other evening drinks and entertainment.

The place is quite small but this works in it's favour for the warm friendly service and atmosphere.

The service is efficent and friendly and lets our group let our hair down and slightly become loud but not enough to be a pain to others, this also helped the atmosphere.

The food was delightfully wholesome, spicey with the correct warmth, heat and bite to a good Mexican flavourisum meal.
This was supported by pitchers of zingy tequila maguaritas, delightfully strong mexican black coffee and beautiful delicate desserts.

I shall return soon

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRedemptionMilitia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
75 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This restaurant is clean and busy and the tables are quite close together.
We shared a starter of cocktail du camarones which is a mixture of shrimps, onions, capers, avocado, peas, tomato sauce and orange juice, it was very tasty.
Main course was also good, I had tortillas with chicken (enchiladas verdes) and my husband had beef tacos.
Overall, the restaurant was clean, staff members were friendly and the food quite tasty.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank montage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anahuacalli also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Anahuacalli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing