We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, possible for vegetarians”

Ambassade D'Auvergne
Ranked #1,660 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $35 - $60
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Notre Dame / Marais
Description: Since 1966, l'Ambassade Auvergne proposes at the heart of historic Paris a generous traditional fayre in a warm and authentic setting. Regional specialities, wide wine list, fresh and seasonal produce Our menu reflects the regional gastronomy, it changes with the seasons and what we discover each day at the market to meet all desires and propose the unmissable dishes and flavors typically from Auvergne, the Aligot, The delicatessen dried meats or Cheeses, with unctuous sugestions, for all appetites!
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice, possible for vegetarians”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Besides all the negative comments here at trip advisor, I happened to like the Ambassade d'Auvergne. We went there without reservation and were lucky to find a table - not the best one, but at least we were seated. While translating the menu, the waitress offered an english version.
From the wine card we chose a cuvee of Cabernet Sauvignon, Franc and Merlot. It was lighter than expected, but a good start.
When I asked for any vegetarian meal, the waitress was puzzled but immediately suggested a plate of vegetables. After explaining that I only don't want meat, she even suggest the aligot with it. By the way, we did not know that the restaurant was famous for the aligot (mashed potatoes with cheese), so we did not expect anything really hitting-your-sock-off meal. The vegetables were very good, quality instead of quantity and we did not find it on the check (either by mistake or on purpose?).
We kind of were forced into the typical French menu ordering, so we had the mixed cheese plate as a starter, duck breast and my vegetable plate as mains (both with aligot) and mousse o'chocolate and triple variation of cremes as dessert. We liked the food, but would not order the mousse again, since a huge bowle was served that would have been enough for 6 people. Impossible to finish. As well, be careful with the cheese. Not every kind is pleasant tasting for the foreign cheese taste.
In the end, we paid 90 Euro for the menus and the wine (2 people).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    245
    102
    57
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A hint from a local”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My Mom and I were recently in Paris and we were headed for a pretty standard bistro dinner on a Sunday night. When we arrived at the Bistro we had chosen, we were disappointed to find that it was closed on Sundays. As we were considering our options on the street outside the closed restaurant, a passing gentleman from the neighborhood volunteered that we would have been unhappy with our meal had the bistro been open. So we asked him for a recommendation in the area. He directed us to L'Ambassade d'Auvergne (turn right here, go about five blocks, past the police station). We were very pleased with our meal. The restaurant has a country inn type feel and serves hearty Auvergne regional cuisine. We arrived without a reservation but were welcomed and seated in the upstairs dining room, which had about six tables. Although the restaurant was quiet when we arrived at about 8:30, by the time we left pretty much every table was occupied. Our waiter spoke enough English to help us out and was great with recommendations on the menu and the wine list. We left very pleased with our find, and our story.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toomdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
879 reviews
743 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
“Back With An Old Friend”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful meal at this atmospheric old timer on our first trip to Paris thirty years ago. I am happy to report that it is still a charming and friendly place, and I am ashamed that it took us so long to return. Your options in Paris on a Sunday are always truncated-so many places are closed. You can go a brasserie, or some places in very touristed areas. Frankly, we were heading to another restaurant, and found that it was only open in the evening. We were within a few blocks of l'Ambassade, so we decided to give it a try without a reservation.

The head waiter told us they were fully booked, but he did offer us a chance to sit at a big table in the back, which could accommodate 8 or 10. One gentleman was already quietly having his meal. We thanked him for the offer and accepted, and were glad we did. The green lentil salad with bacon and scallops tartare with coriander were satisfying starters. The duck breast with aligot was an iconic main course. The chocolate mousse will put you in bistro heaven. the waiter smiled with great approval when I orders a Cahors, that wonderful French Malbec that goes so well with dishes from the southwest.

The restaurant is a Parisian, and perhaps a national treasure. We won't wait so long to return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ulysses4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Regional cuisine at its best”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is one of those restaurants where they prefer you make a reservation, so that they can properly prepare a dining room for the number of guests they anticipate. No crowding here. Mostly French-speaking people when we there (one couple was greeted for a Happy Anniversary).

The waitstaff is professional, as in any good French restaurant, but not pretentious or hovering. The main reason to go is for the aligot (in my opinion). They twirl it table side and it is so good.

We both enjoyed our main dishes very much and yes, the mousse is homemade and excellent.

There was definitely one table of tourists looking for "comfort food" or American-ness or something. The tourists were a bit loud, compared to the other diners, and they were not in a special occasion mood, rather in a negative mood, which I thought was unfortunate for the anniversary couple and anyone else seeking romance (and there were three couples altogether, trying to enjoy a quiet dinner). It is meant to be a quiet place, I think, the waitstaff has this serious and low key attitude, subdued - they set the tone with quiet voices and smiles.

We very much enjoyed trying to find regional restaurants on this last trip, and are looking forward to returning to L'Ambassade on our next trip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeBiscuit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Chocolate Mousse in Paris”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I've been here several times over the last 10 years. There's a vibe of tourists looking for comfort food from this part of France. I was an exchange student in the Auvergne region and believe that a lot of the recipes are authentic. The atmosphere is charming like an old French Inn. The service was always great. I recommend this is a great place for people either new to Paris dining for a French concept of meat and potatoes comfort food with a twist, e.g. most food is served 'family style' and seeing the cheesy potatoes whipped several feet in the air is usually impressive as long as no one sneezes :-).
The chocolate mouse is really, really chocolatey and yummy. They usually offer seconds, but it is SO rich so think hard before saying 'Oui Monsieur'.
I consider this one of the best romantic restaurants in Paris as seen on the map http://justromanticparis.com/mapstore/product-category/20-romantic-restaurants-paris-download-version/

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheZenGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambassade D'Auvergne also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Ambassade D'Auvergne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing