We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next Level...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee

Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee
Ranked #377 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $226 - $420
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Champs-Elysees
Description: Alain Ducasse will present for his eponymous restaurant his very own brand new expression of contemporary French Haute cuisine in a completely revamped decor by designer Patrick Jouin. The cuisine will be based on a trio of exceptional produce : fish, cereals and vegetables . Beyond food itself, guests will be treated to a unique experience.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Next Level...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were in Paris for my birthday, and what better way to celebrate than a lavish dinner at Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee. WOW, entering the dining room accompanied by the benevolent and professional Restaurant Director Denis Courtiade, we really have to rub your eyes. It's simply magnificent and opulent with out being 'too much'. The dining room team are all very stylish, friendly, but discreet and everything carefully orchestrated by Mr. Courtiade.

Of, course the food is out of this world, and as my heading stated - Mr. Ducasse is really taking it to the next level with his cuisine and service. We were indecisive and couldn't chose a la carte. 'No, problem! The Chef will choose for you' our waiter said. And that was not a wrong decision! The Chef composed different six course menu's for both of us, so we got to sample twice as many dishes! Oscietra caviar, lobster from Bretagne, Atlantic line caught Turbot were some of the amazing produce on our menu's not to mention generous shavings of white truffle from Alba on many of the courses! As expected the Restaurant was fully booked and we were dining along with several internationally acclaimed personalities and Paris celebrities, which adds a little more excitement to the game for us 'normal' guests :-) We hope to be back someday, and in the meanwhile we we will live on this amazing experience for many many years! Thanks and congratulations to the entire team at ADPA.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank IaInIdIrIeIaIsI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you so much for your great review following your meal in our restaurant Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athénée.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
With our very best regards,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    82
    45
    33
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, Minnesota
Level Contributor
138 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Best Fine dining in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Extremely elegant and classy restaurant, impeccable service and courtesy. Very knowledgeable and friendly sommelier. At 380 Euros per person, the food is definitely worthwhile. I recommend the set menu, you will enjoy the sauteed shrimo appetizer, the vegetarian dish with sweet sauce,and the Rhum Babba dessert. The presentation of the caviar and soup dish was fantastic and tasted the same. Also the miniature desserts were simply delicious. Beautiful crockery and nice, lively ambience.If you are a fine-dining fan and can afford it, this is the place to go in Paris. Reservations recommended for sure. Oh, and the wine and bread were fantastic. Same goes for cheeses...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for your great review following your 3 stars experience with us.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
With our very best regards,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A True Parisian Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I ordered the fix menu. All the menu selections were delicate and the correct portion size. The sauces were equally Devine.
The service was attentive. I did not feel like the staff was hovering waiting to jump on my lap. Just what one would expect from a well trained team. They had a sense of humor.
We had a great experience.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Racer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review following your meal in our restaurant Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athénée.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
With our very best regards,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Emporers New Clothes”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wow could not believe how poor the food was at this restaurant. I have been to many Three Star restaurants and usually this kind of quality would struggle to make one star in the UK or other parts of the world. In fact if it wasn't a French chef I doubt very much it would be in the guide. Please don't take anything anyway from the staff who stood up to the values required. However when paying over €1000 euros for two for dinner you expect them to deliver. We went for taster menu. My partner had lobster with caviar (3 x 10 pence size pieces) to start very uninspiring. €185 for starters as I didn't like caviar I was offered a pan of fried shrimp as a substitute?? Yes I cook better than this at home. Shocking & completely tasteless albeit for the garlic in the pan. The fruit and vegetable plate which was served was reasonable but again not great and but not worth the €85. The best course presented was the lobster with sea potaoes which was good but again nothing a one star restaurant could provide. I think The Michelin guide needs a serious rethink as the accreditation it provides clearly has no parity in measure.
Despite the great staff would not enter an Alain Ducasse again as friends visited the Dorchester in London and were equally dissatisfied.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,
I wanted to thank you for taking the time to send us your impressions we have considered.
We are sorry to hear that your experience at Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athénée was not up to your expectations and be sure that your comments have been sent to Mr. Ducasse himself and his team.
Alain Ducasse wanted to put the taste of the product at the center of each plate in order to restore the taste in its truth, without unnecessary ingredient.
Waiting to see you soon at the Plaza Athénée, please accept the expression of our respectful greetings.
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One the Best restaurants in the World!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Experience:
It is my second visit, and yes I will visit again!
Courtesy highs: Courteous staff, quick and attentive, explained dishes, asked about allergies, quick at clearing dishes, cleaning table from bread debris, friendly sommelier.
Courtesy lows: none to mention.
Food highs: The food was amazing, namely the shrimp appetizer, vegetarian dish with sweet sauce, the dessert tarts and Rum baba, beautiful food presentation.
Food Lows: none to mention.
Ambience highs: beautiful, elegant décor, very nicely laid-out and lit, cutlery and crockery is beautiful, lively atmosphere.
Ambience lows: none to mention.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver_Zeitoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François D, Directeur général at Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear customer,
Thank you for your positive feedback and be sure that your compliments have been passed to our teams.
We look forward to seeing you very soon.
With our very best regards,
François Delahaye - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Alain Ducasse au Plaza Athenee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing