We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like diners back home”

Breakfast in America
Ranked #860 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Description: The American Diner in Paris!
Bellmore, New York
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Like diners back home”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stopped in for a quick bite at the des Ecoles location before catching the show at Paradis Latin. Everything everyone says is true. Small, hip, crowded, English speaking waitresses.....ours was actually French with absolutely no French accent. Hamburgers, omelettes, bagels just like home. Prices are good, portions huge, coffee is refilled. A nice change.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank martyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    322
    123
    43
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Enough to share for 2!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had the CC's Hot Mess breakfast 10 euros. It was scrambled eggs, with the whole kitchen sink thrown in. Enough for 2. Good service and coffee refills. Your American home away from home.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great burgers!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I came to Paris to visit a friend of mine for the weekend and found ourselves at a loss as to where to eat on a Sunday night- everything is closed! Luckily, Breakfast in America was open. Located in the student area of Paris, the small restaurant was full of Parisian students and hipsters. The decor was very authentic and felt like a true American diner. The food was fantastic. I had a burger with avocado and swiss cheese and it was delicious. They also served home made fresh ice tea which was a nice, homely touch.

Very reasonably priced at €10.50 for a meal and fantastic for a Sunday in Paris.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great breakfast if you get the right cook”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were here 3 times. The first time, I had mediocre coffee, dry mushroom swiss omelet and dry home fries. The best thing was the toast that you could toast yourself. We went back again because we needed more than a croissant for breakfast. Different cook made all the difference. The cheddar cheese omelet was moist and cheesy, the home fries were tasty with some peppers mixed in, even the coffee was better. The third time we had the same cook, so 2 out of 3 isn't bad. I was going to take a picture of him so readers would know what the good cook looked like, but then I thought I was over the top. This cook deserves 5 stars, but since we had the bad cook as well, I give it 4 stars.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sukibot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Like home.”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stay in the neighborhood of Breakfast in America, so love to visit when we are in Paris. It is so nice to have a "real" breakfast after all the bread and cheese for breakfast in the hotels. Have been to this place many times and will happily go back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast in America also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Breakfast in America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing