We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite by chance”
Review of Brasserie Balzar

Brasserie Balzar
Reserve with
Brasserie Balzar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,818 of 17,407 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
PO21 1HW
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite by chance”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

we found this very busy, typical local brasserie. Small tables, close together. A few minutes after we arrived, it was full. Good food, medium price range, entrees 20/25 euros, professional French service. What's not to like?

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ianaharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    290
    138
    78
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great experience”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on 2/14/13. We were late for our reservation due to issues the train; however they still were very accommodating and got us seated quickly ( on Valentine's Day). My husband ordered the onion soup as an appetizer and the skate as his entree. He enjoyed both. I ordered the steak with potatoes- the steak had to be sent back to be cooked more and also could have used more seasonings. The creamed baked potatoes were awesome. Overall great experience- and I would recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tam_tam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liege
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“On the steps of Adam Gopnick”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We walked many times in front of Le Balzar but this time we stopped and had dinner. We were early and the dining room was not yet very busy but within a few minutes many people arrived. The place is still very popular. We had an enormous slice of pate to start, followed by "boudin noir". The food was plain and good not fancy. The house wine was good for the price. Overall good value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fgrandjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lalaland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“not great.”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

food was below average, and not worth the price. the chicken roti was not roti at all. i cannot recommend it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank fabs_lalaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned Paris brasserie”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here after a long and snowy walk in the Jardin du Luxembourg and Latin Quarter. Balzar has been serving people great food since the 1890's and is situated close to the Sorbonne. We had a simple but delicious roast chicken followed by a selection of cheeses and dessert. The service was good and friendly, the waiter explained some of the courses on the menu that we did not understand. When the Maitre d' learnt it was my birthday he offered us a glass of champagne too. So glad we ignored all the invitations to the tacky "traditional french" restaurants in the Latin Quarter and went to this instead. Booking is advised as the restaurant is packed with locals on Sundays for lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VicandPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Balzar also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Brasserie Balzar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing