We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing extraordinary” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Vivienne

Bistrot Vivienne
Ranked #1,126 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Opera / Bourse
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nothing extraordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a nice bistrot close to palais royal and louvre. The bistrot is partially situated in a very nice and peculiar covered gallery and has some tables out of the restaurant.The menu is not very creative but the food is good. I would have liked more fish option while there was one only selection. We had entrecote and fillet and they were ok. Good wine selection and personnel nice. Good experience but i expected more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    207
    58
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great place to experience Parisian food, quite ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My Parisian friend took me out to this restaurant in 2011, going back to Paris this month and looking forward to go there again. This place is amazing. I ordered their lamb chops which was a bomb! Love the food, so tasty. The ambiance is very quite and its inside one of the passages. Really neat. loved it!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elynoremarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal in a typically Parisian restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The restaurant is beautifully decorated and set on a side street and there's not to much traffic passing by, I ate on the terrace - typically the tables are all very close together. The food was simple and tasty, Not really any more expensive than any other location. The mackerel pate appetizer and the lemon tart were excellent. The service is a little bland, servers seem very young, but the male host/manager on the day I visited was charming and very helpful - especially as the menu was all in French and my comprehension is not 100%. This dining experience reminded me of Paris in the 80's - very intimate, with great comfort food - and no - not massive portions.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pure Parisian Magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Having done the usual trawl through TA to find a great place for a special meal, I was feeling a little underwhelmed, until a friend recommended this place. The setting couldn't be more gorgeous, in a beautiful little arcade/gallery, full of lovely little shops and a stone's through from the beautiful gardens at the Palais Royal, perfect for a pre/post dinner stroll.
The service was faultless and there are so many lovely, romantic corners of the restaurant to sit, all compete with the wonderful smell of the old wood that built the place and freshly brewed coffee.
We had three courses, a glass of good champagne each, wine and water and it came to around £100 for the two of us, which for the location, quality of food and wonderful experience was great value in my opinion. They happily accommodated all of my requests, such as frites rather than saute potatoes with my steak (sometimes you can be treated with snobbery and rudeness on other French restaurants when making such requests) and the fillet steak itself was the best I have ever eaten!
We will definately return and will probably make the effort to come back to Paris sooner, just so that we can.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MadyMoo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bistro Vivienne.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

One of the best bistro meals we have had in Paris, or anywhere. Classic dishes presented well. Good clean flavours, fresh ingredients.. Good ambience, smart service. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Vivienne also viewed

 

Been to Bistrot Vivienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing