We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst bistro in Paris”

Bistrot de L'Oulette
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 3/5
8:00 PM
Ranked #410 of 20,377 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bastille
Description: Bistrot de l'oulette is a local institution in Le Marais, this bistrot is ideally placed between la bastille and place des vosges, with it's authentic menu from the south west of france , it is a must if you want to enjoy the flavours of the re-visited fundamentals of french cuisine from foie gras to cassoulet. With no pretention, it is one of the best adresses in paris for it's price.
Reviewed May 25, 2016 via mobile

We visited this bistro because of the good reviews , but it was disappointed we ask for the meal of the day , the terrine was poor , but the veal was impossible to eat . The only thing we enjoyed was a good French wine from the Rhone.
We really thing it doesn't deserve the rating that appears in trip advisor .
Sorry guys you have to improve your kitchen , but I have to accept your service is very good ,

Date of visit: May 2016
3  Thank Toussaint1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bistrot-de-loulette, Responsable relations clients at Bistrot de L'Oulette, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Hello,
You have nothing we liked about it is your opinion and I respect it.
that fatty liver is not great and the near calf is not good that's wrong, know that it happens by us both to have customers like you who help us break without reason and who are never happy.
we have to change the dishes to please you when you are wrong. please customer chèr to be very attentive to your opinion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 269 of 942 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2016

I booked this little restaurant for myself and my wife during our short visit for my wife's birthday. This was after extensive research (!) to find what she likes which is good traditional french food served in relaxed and traditional surroundings. You don`t get a ranking as high as this restaurant unless you are serving really good food so I booked.

We were not disappointed. The food was simply fantastic. We both had the special that day of the rabbit to start with and then we my wife had the cassoulet and I had the duck for our main courses. Both were fantastic. We both had the creme brulee for dessert and as others have commented it was lovely.

The cost is very reasonable for Paris although it wasn`t until I was presented with the bill that I realised we had ordered from a set menu although the menu we looked at just had normal prices set out for each dish. A little confusing but cheaper at the end ! You don`t get much room with everyone packed in quite tightly but if anything this just added to the atmosphere.

The only slight disappointment was that I had booked this a few months in advance and had mentioned that it was for a special birthday but there wasn`t any acknowledgement of that before, during or after our meal and another table did had a bit of a "fuss" made which would have been nice for my wife if they had remembered. This didn`t really detract though from what was lovely food.

Definitely recommended.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QTipCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

The two of us enjoyed a delicious lunch at Bistrot de L'Oulette. Friendly and efficient staff helped with food and wine choices. Very traditional French bistrot - just what we were looking for.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 549alwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

Small and cosy, bistrot in Marais. Unable to get a table on first visit, so made reservation for the following evening while staying on nearby Rue Saint Giles. Very welcoming and helpful waiter explained their very enticing carte. Emphasis on fresh food, and canard (the veal had all gone). Tremendous, rich foie gras based soup was one choice for the entre du jour, all our dishes equally superb, including a rich and flavourful guinea fowl casserole. Good wine and fromage to end a very satisfying dinner. We booked to go again with other friends.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank cleo01paw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 13, 2016

For more than a decade, we have been returning to this dining room on our visits to Paris, and it is always one of our favorite meals in our favorite city. We started with their escargots in foamy garlic-parsley sauce, this time accented with celery and hazelnuts instead of the artichokes and almonds served on our last two visits. For our mains we had duck confit with crisp roasted potatoes, and faux filet of veal with creamy whipped potatoes, all superbly prepared. Dessert was a hot, crispy croustade with apples and Armagnac ice cream. Unlike some others we've returned to and then crossed off "our list," it's nice to know that L'Oulette never disappoints.

Date of visit: September 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot de L'Oulette also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bistrot de L'Oulette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.