We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aux Charpentiers

Aux Charpentiers
Ranked #2,960 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Description: This historic bistro was originally opened in 1856 and is a real institution in Paris' Saint Germain des Pres district. The name 'Aux Charpentiers' means 'To Carpenters', and the restaurant has engravings, photos and furniture commemorating this noble trade. The menu is traditional French bistro fare with a certain amount of influence from the rural Correze region with its famous Limousine beef. The atmosphere is friendly with an eclectic mix of locals, tourists, politicians and journalists.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Picked this restaurant at random, and ordered the Plat du Jour, which was Stew with vegetables. The beef was grissly, overcooked and served in a clear watery, tasteless fluid. The vegetables were overcooked - potato, carrots, turnip and slimy leek. A truely horrible meal for which we paid 20 euros each.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    135
    53
    22
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bayeux, France
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've given Aux Charpentiers an excellent rating because we (family of five) have eaten there many times over the past six or seven years and it never varies in the level of service or the quality of the food. The staff are always professional, the food is always very good - not the very best cuisine in Paris, but then you are not paying top dollar here either. If you want an authentically good Parisian meal without being ripped off, I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant. We've never been disappointed and I'm sure it will remain a family favourite for years to come.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
149 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great French Cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

On our first night in Paris we dined here. We did not have reservations and were lucky to be able to get a table as the restaurant was very busy. Once again, we relied on Trip Advisor to guide us to a good spot. Service was excellent and it was a great dining experience for some tired travelers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wimbledon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“delightful little restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

unexpectedly awesome quality/price ratio! will be back whenever in Paris - great menu choices, excellent wine options and good service - what more can you ask for these days?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Paris Bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I travel to Paris two-to-three times per year and we always have dinner at this restaurant. We always start with the foie gras and then move on to any one of the main courses - we have had all of them! the ambiance is friendly, warm and welcoming and the food is wonderful!
A must, if in Paris!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josefa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aux Charpentiers also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Aux Charpentiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing