We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine dining experience!”
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Reserve with
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,595 of 18,356 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Description: The ovens at Au Pied de Cochon were fired up in 1946 and they have never been turned off since. Au Pied de Cochon is a Paris institution, very near the Centre Pompidou, on your way from shopping the first arrondissement to the sightseeing the Marais. It is decorated with a profusion of Art Nouveau stylistic touches, like mirrors, fantastic chandeliers, paintings of lovely ladies. There is also an enticing terrace, and, as it's open 24/7, you can come in anytime for a meal and to watch the world go by. Menu is French. Try starter of oysters of several types and sizes, house special main course of pig's trotter stuffed with duck liver and pudding of babas au rhum.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The waiter and Maitre-D were very polite and helpful, along with being fluent. The atmosphere for a Sunday evening was very pleasant. The food was delightful, particularly the mussels and fries.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Torlom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your review! We're glad you enjoyed our brasserie atmosphere and our cookery!
We hope to welcome you again soon,
Kind Regards,
Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,133)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 504 of 3,134 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

The food is not bad, but neither it is good. The prices are at least 2x what they should be if the food was good. The wine list is a rip off. This is the place for people who don't know better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Boris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
We're very surprised by your comment which doesn't reflect our house standards. Au Pied de Cochon is a true institution of the Halles district since 1947. Au Pied de Cochon posesses the "Maitre Restaurateur" title which testifies of our commitment to home-made cuisine cooked with fresh products.
Our Director would like to discuss this recent meal among us and better understand what happened. Would you be so kind to give me your phone number and the best moment to reach you?
Kind regards,
Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
chloe(a)blanc.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I eat here regularly. It's a favourite place especially when travelling on my own.
The food is good, whether I eat snails or oysters or go for a shell fish platter for one.
The main course has to be a fillet steak or a Pave of Rump.
Wine is always a bottle of Brouilly froid.
The staff are attentive and good at conversation. I have never had a desert here. The standard of the quality of food is always consistent. A great place to eat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Antelope0206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your review about Au Pied de Cochon. We're glad to count you among our regular customers!
See you soon,
Kind regards,
Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Beautiful old bistro with wonderful food and wine. Outrageous shellfish platters but pricey. I loved it and would return, but it is a splurge.

Thank mandy6494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your review about Au Pied de Cochon. We're glad to read you had a great time among us!
We hope to welcome you again someday.
Kind regards,
Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

A fun, busy and lively restaurant. Enjoyed some steak and profiteroles. Fillet steak was very tasty but possibly overpriced at €45. However, it WAS gorgeous! Very friendly service and English menu was most definitely appreciated! Would recommend for a special treat!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lorr102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your enthusiast review about Au Pied de Cochon! We're glad you enjoyed your meal and desert!
We hope to welcome you again someday,
Kind regards,
Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing