We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great foie gras poutine”
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Reserve with
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,053 of 17,739 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Description: The ovens at Au Pied de Cochon were fired up in 1946 and they have never been turned off since. Au Pied de Cochon is a Paris institution, very near the Centre Pompidou, on your way from shopping the first arrondissement to the sightseeing the Marais. It is decorated with a profusion of Art Nouveau stylistic touches, like mirrors, fantastic chandeliers, paintings of lovely ladies. There is also an enticing terrace, and, as it's open 24/7, you can come in anytime for a meal and to watch the world go by. Menu is French. Try starter of oysters of several types and sizes, house special main course of pig's trotter stuffed with duck liver and pudding of babas au rhum.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Our friends went there and highly recommended their foie gras. We had it and it was very juicy, soft and delicious. It just melted in my mouth. French fries were dipped with foie gras sauce and it was nice flavor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peii H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

466 - 470 of 2,894 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Manager take care of us even my baby is with us and a stroller.
He even offer us free drinks because of waiting to get seat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank patikim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your review about Au Pied de Cochon. We're glad you enjoyed your experience here.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

In Paris, excited to taste the delicious food around the city, I read online that many people think Au Pied has some of the best french onion soup. Boy was I let down. It came out with a nice, crusty layer of cheese like it should, but it all went down from there. Soup? More like bowl of liquified salt. I really can't believe I got through it without a heart attack. It was gross while I was eating it and I felt terrible afterwards. And good lord is it expensive! I realize that this is a "famous" restaurant, popular with the tourists, and everything is expensive in Paris. But, seriously, you can do a lot better than spend your time and money here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank dedelste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.

We're very surprised by your comment concerning our traditionnal onion soup. This course has been a speciality of the house for more than 65 years! Moreover our brasserie posesses the "maître restaurateur" title which testifies of our commitment to home-made cuisine cooked with fresh products.

Our Director would like to discuss this recent meal with you and better understand what happened. Would you be so kind to give me your phone number and the best moment to reach you?

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
chloe[a]blanc.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

One of the best known restaurants in Paris, with a long history.

First visited this restaurant 20 years ago but still the great place it was, hope it will not be another 20 years before I am back.

Service in brilliant, food is good, atmosphere is excellent what else can I say.

This restaurant is not cheap but you pay for the location, history and reputation. Restaurant is open 24 hours a day but we had dinner sitting on the terrace enjoying the last sunshine of the day.

The food quality is very good and worth trying the Pied de Cochon, portions could be slightly larger but they certainly were not bad and the food tasted great.

Attention to detail by the management is top class and they take pride in their restaurant and the satisfaction of their guests.

At the end of the meal they gave us a book on the history of the restaurant which was a great gesture and really appreciated.

Definitely be back next time in Paris.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PhilipW788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Philip,

many thanks for your lovely and elogious review about Au Pied de Cochon. We're truly glad to read you had a marvelous time among us! We hope to see you again and as you wrote sooner than in another 20 years!

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Food was average and still water was 6 euro's!! Make sure you ask for tap water. Atmoshpere was nice and the staff were friendly. However, felt that we receied a lot less attention once we opted for some of the cheaper menu options. In fact, trying to get someone's attention at the end of the night to pay the bill was near impossible.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jucey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your review about Au Pied de Cochon.

If we're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere, we're very surprised by your service description. We can assure you our waiters do not make difference between clients and we're sorry to read you didn't like our food. Au Pied de Cochon possesses the "Maître-Restaurateur" title which testifies of our commitment to home-made cuisine cooked with fresh products.

Our Director would like to discuss this recent meal with you and better understand what happened. Would you be so kind to give me your phone number and the best moment to reach you?

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
chloe[a]blanc.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing