We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The famous Pig’s trotter Grilled with Béarnaise sauce and French fries”
Review of Au Pied de Cochon

Au Pied de Cochon
Reserve with
Au Pied de Cochon is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,834 of 18,479 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Les Halles
Description: The ovens at Au Pied de Cochon were fired up in 1946 and they have never been turned off since. Au Pied de Cochon is a Paris institution, very near the Centre Pompidou, on your way from shopping the first arrondissement to the sightseeing the Marais. It is decorated with a profusion of Art Nouveau stylistic touches, like mirrors, fantastic chandeliers, paintings of lovely ladies. There is also an enticing terrace, and, as it's open 24/7, you can come in anytime for a meal and to watch the world go by. Menu is French. Try starter of oysters of several types and sizes, house special main course of pig's trotter stuffed with duck liver and pudding of babas au rhum.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The famous Pig’s trotter Grilled with Béarnaise sauce and French fries is one of my favourite dish. It is a must whenever I visit this restaurant. I also like the No. 2 Marennes-Oléron Fine de Claire oysters + Carpaccio of Label Rouge Scottish salmon, toasted sourdough bread. The waiters there are always friendly and cheerful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Céline M, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Connie,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent experience at Au Pied de Cochon !
We are happy to read that you like our specialities.

We hope to see you again soon !

Warmest Regards,

Céline Mazars
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 607 of 3,183 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We first visited the restaurant in 1968 and visited regularly until 1990, our last visit was 10 years ago.The atmosphere is as good as ever and the service perfect but the food is just average and boring. Even the famed onion soup is a let down, barely hot. It is still worth a visit if only for the atmosphere, the decor and the history nd for a celebrity restaurant it is good value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ffljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Céline M, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Marcia,

Thank you for your message.

We are happy to read that you like our establishment, but truly sorry to hear that you didn't have such a great experience. Our priority is to please our guests, with perfect food. We briefed the kitchen staff already.

We hope to welcome you soon again,

Kind regards,

Céline Mazars
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had booked for a Sunday lunch. Our table including a high chair for our daughter was ready eventhough we arrived 30mins earlier.
I came there to have a seafood platter in a Parisian atmosphere and I must say I was not disappointed.
The setting was absolutely beautiful and very typical like a chic brasserie should be.
Our dedicated waitress was very helpful and friendly (the other waiters seemed to be friendly as well).
...And my seafood platter, tasted as good as it looked.
Prices I think are not unreasonable for this sort of place (I paid 40 euros for the platter + 12 euros for a half bottle of Muscadet).
I definitely recommend and will go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank git1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Céline M, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice message.
Seafood is one of our specialties and we are glad that you enjoyed it !
Newt time, you should try our pork meat, deliciously traditional !

We hope to welcome you again soon,

Kind regards,

Céline Mazars
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This must have been about our fifth visit over the years. The restaurant was still good and we'd definitely go back again. But we thought it had lost it's edge a little and so doesn't get a top rating any more. Maybe the seafood platter wasn't as large as it had been, nor quite as succulent.

Thank BSSLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Céline M, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind message.
We are glad to hear that you like coming back here, we are glad to welcome you back ech time!
Concerning your remark, we can assure you that we still have the same priorities : pleasing our guests with perfect food and service.

Look forward to seeing you again,

Best regards,

Céline Mazars
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We had an early dinner before heading out for an evening Seine River Cruise. Sat outdoors. My husband chose from Oscar's Menu and I had the Filet Bernaise after starting with onion soup. The food was excellent. Duck from Oscar's menu had a delicious raspberry sauce. Vie en rose dessert was awesome - three kinds of sorbet with rasberries and strawberries plus whipped cream. Desserts come with their signature meringue pig. Meal for two plus 1/2 bottle of wine less than 120 Euro.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Céline M, Responsable relations clients at Au Pied de Cochon, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Martha,

Thank you for writing such a nice comment.
We are trulu glad to hear that you have enjoyed you diner. Pleasing our guests with gourmet and generous food is our moto!

We look forward to welcoming you again in our restaurant that never closes its doors!

Yours sincerely,

Céline Mazars
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Pied de Cochon also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Creteil, Val-de-Marne
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Au Pied de Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing