We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fortuitous Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Particulier Montmartre
Ranked #1,304 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“A Fortuitous Find”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Through the good offices of Mr and Mrs Smith we found this hotel. Tucked away toward the top of the Montmartre hill (18th Arr.) the Hotel Particulier sits in a walled garden within walking distance of two Metro stations (Abbesses to the south; Lamarck Caulaincourt to the north west) and numerous cafes and bars. The best places to stay are true to their environments - architecturally and otherwise - and this hotel is completely genuine. Nothing is too much trouble for the very friendly staff, whose tolerance for clumsy French is far higher than I felt I deserved. A great place to stay, and a complete contrast to the sterility of the 5 and 6 star chains.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    67
    34
    52
    36
See reviews for
23
144
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Behind the black steel door, a feel good, home-like Hotel Particulier resides. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful with providing suggested places to eat or visit especially if you're unfamiliar with the area (& do not speak French) (special thanks to Pavlina).The beautiful garden makes you feel happy and safe, almost as if you can stay there for a lifetime (particularly if you're there with your partner). At night, guests sit both in the garden as well as on the front porch, eating and drinking, enjoying the serenity until late at night (which should be considered when selecting your room in case you want to avoid the noise carrying into your room). The wine and food is crisp, fresh and tasty, a broad selection, it's hard not to find something both authentic and enjoyable. There are plenty of sites to visit/tour locally (Basilica of Sacre-Coeur, Dali's museum), and bistros/brasseries to choose from, allowing time to do a little shopping, too, if interested. It was hard to leave Hotel Particulier where despite being long distance from your home, you immediately feel at home and happy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai. China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

If you are expecting a usual 5/6 star boutique hotel experience, this is not the best way to go.

Good:-
The HPM is situated within a estate of 3-4 houses on the quiet and neater side of Montmarte. It only have 5 suites and therefore it is run rather like a family business with rather "homey" and rustic services standards. Staff are more willing and helpful then most regular hotels in town.

Bad:-
The house is not easy to locate so if you go for a taxi driver, make sure you will have the street address. Also there is a gate shared amongst the houses within the estate. If you comes off from an international flight like me, make sure you call the reception and ask somebody to carry the luggage with you.

Ugly:-
Our suite has a torn bedding and the shower doesn't work. The air conditioning is not working so we felt really lucky on second night when weather really cooled down quite a bid. This is paris but i suppose when you command a higher than market room rate, you would at least provide infrastructure at par.

Therefore my verdict will be that if you are the fearless type wanting for a retreat from the normal fuzz and buzz of the city, this is the place to go. If not, stay away

Room Tip: try staying at rooms facing the terrace - you can see le tour eiffel from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joku_en_route
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was in Paris for the weekend, visiting a friend who lives in Montmartre. She had heard about this restaurant (part of the hotel) as very exclusive and chic, so she made a reservation in advance of my visit. Finding it is tricky, although that's part of its charm. Upon entering, we both found the grounds very beautiful and our table well located near the entrance. However, the service was very slow, typical of Paris some would say. But for the price of the food and the mystique surrounding this place, the service was quite disappointing. We waited at least 15 minutes from being seated before anyone came to take a drink order or even acknowledge our presence. Yet in that period, others who entered the restaurant after us were happily sipping on their beverages. Once our waiter appeared, he was very nice and cordial. But that cordiality showed a lack of training for such a place. It was as if he used his personality as a cover up for the slow service. Our dinner (without dessert) took more than 3 hours. The food quality was average to poor and quite pricey (23 euros for a starter foie gras that was topped by the cheapest pate in any grocery store). The main dishes were better than the apps, but still lacking in any distinguishing 'pop' as a dish that would bring you back again. For the price point, this restaurant was very disappointing. I would not go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

1 review
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The moment I entered the little black door and I walked in the garden I instantly felt the great energy of the place.. I was there on a sunny Sunday afternoon with the 'couche du soleil' and we ordered a rose wine (whispering angel) while listening to Spanish guitar.. A great moment I wanted to share, hidden for the world you can relax and instantly feel like you are on holidays somewhere secret ,in the heart of Paris. Excellent service. Overall a great experience and an unforgettable moment. I hope I can come back very soon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Particulier Montmartre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for your comments on TripAdvisor following your stay with us in June. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel.
Hoping to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Amandine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Magnificent hotel and restaurant in the heart of Montmartre !!!! Makes you feel in paradise
Great place to eat as well real good food and perfect service !!
Thank you for this great moment hope I will come back real soon

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steperez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar C, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Particulier Montmartre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor following your visit earlier this month. We are thrilled that you had a wonderfully relaxing stay, refreshed by the relaxed ambience, and happy to return!
That very comfortable atmosphere while of course being extremely attentive to detail, is exactly what we hope our guests experience.

Thank you very kindly for taking the time to write.

Yours sincerely,
Amandine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! I agree with the other reviews, the accommodations and staff are downright creepy. The ambiance is best described as the set from "Interview with a Vampire," and the staff members just don't strike one as a professional staff. They were all just "off" - there is no other way to explain it. Also, when you check in, they require you to write down your credit card # on a form that doesn't seem to serve any real purpose since you provide everything when booking. I protested, but they would not let us check in without doing so. Guess what? Two weeks after our departure, AmEx calls me saying someone in Paris is trying to buy plane tickets with my card info. Coincidence? Doubtful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KMK451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montmartre
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
Terrass'' Hotel by MH
#70 of 1,801 in Paris
722 reviews
Montmartre
Montmartre Mon Amour
Montmartre Mon Amour
#359 of 1,801 in Paris
828 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Providence
Hotel Providence
#760 of 1,801 in Paris
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
Le Relais Montmartre
#54 of 1,801 in Paris
913 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#502 of 1,801 in Paris
1,032 reviews
Montmartre
Hotel Le Squara
Hotel Le Squara
#905 of 1,801 in Paris
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Particulier Montmartre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Particulier Montmartre

Property: Hotel Particulier Montmartre
Address: 23 avenue Junot | 18th Arr., 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montmartre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#485 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Particulier Montmartre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Particulier Montmartre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Particulier De Montmartre Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing