We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy and will use it again”
Review of Hotel Charma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Charma
Ranked #1,464 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was with my wife and son for 2 nights there ,

Good Things :

1: Very clean
2 : Friendly stuff
3 : Near to Metro
4 : Near to all shops you need
5 : The heater was working all the time and room was very hot and nice
6 : Good price

Bad things

1 : Internet reception was very bad inside the room , and I had too log-in my username and password all the time because the reception continually get lost .

2 : This time , He provide me Parking , but normally there is no Free Parking there. you have to find parking yourself and pay for that .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Omid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Charma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 176 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

I do a lot of traveling and I would say this was one of the hotels I have ever stayed in!

I know its cheap; and a 2-3 star hotel, but I found our hotel to be unclean. The floors were unsweetened and my daughter and I did not feel comfortable lying on the sheets.

Another very disappointing factor was that reception was very unhelpful!! :( Having stayed their for 3 nights, I was constantly telling front desk that our phone, television and toilet were not working! Having said to us, they we're fixed, I had to get the the man working at front desk to come with me to my room so he can actually bel8ieve me. The toilet, phone and TV were not repaired until the final night.

Like I said, I understand that the price is very cheap and the rooms are small but cleanliness and most importantly, some respect from front desk would have been very appreciated!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel Charma was the final destination for my Intrepid tour in Paris. The room was basic but clean, the breakfast was minimal but nice and there was a computer in the foyer for patrons to use. The hotel was easy walking distance to the Metro. All in all, a pretty good location for such a large city as Paris.

There was a nice little bar on the main road to the right about 300 metres or so where I enjoyed a beer before heading off the an Italian restuarant another 200 metres or so down the road which was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Charma - nearest Metro to the hotel is Porte De Vincennes which is literally 2 minutes away - although worth knowing Hotel is 10 minutes walk from Place De La Nation where you can buy RER train ticket to Eurodisney (Chessey) for E14 return.
The hotel is one of two hotels situated at the bottom of Rue des Maraichers - on a quiet road across from the ugliest office/government building in Paris - don't expect any views no matter what level or side of the building your room is on.
Be aware - if you stay here you will need to use the metro to get about - we walked into Paris via the Bastille and then criss/crossed the river - it was a full day sightseeing and we needed to get the metro back (our poor, blistered feet insisted).

Pros: Hotel reception is small, clean and welcoming - I found all the reception staff friendly and helpful. The hotel has a creaky old lift which is an adventure in itself but it adds to the charm - the room had clean sheets and towels...and breakfast although very basic was fresh (a roll/a croissant - jam - cereals or yoghurt if you ask and tea/coffee). Two supermarkets at end of road selling water, fruit juice etc till late at night - limited places to eat out - a few restaurants at the Nation, but a reasonably priced little pizzeria directly across the road. Also if you turn right out of the hotel and walk up Rue des Maraichers - Rue Davron has a number of coffee shops and pubs - plus if you want something cheap to eat - Ali Baba2 offers a range of kebab style food.
Cons: Rooms are very small and the walls are thin - no secrets if you want a romantic couple break. Not a lot of selection for restaurants nearby.
OVerall view - a reasonable hotel to use as a base to see Paris without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine_ashdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank cptam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights during a business trip to Paris.
Pros:
Really nice, friendly and helpful stuff
Clean and quiet room
Safe location
Cheap parking space available
Cons:
Breakfast is really ridiculous (french standard)
Rooms are small (always in Paris)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackMco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was nice and cheep but its location could be closer to the city.

The short distance to the metro helped to improve the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Comete Paris
#31 of 1,803 in Paris
167 reviews
Tamaris Hotel
#1,525 of 1,803 in Paris
86 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Le Twelve
Hotel Le Twelve
#1,355 of 1,803 in Paris
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Plus 61 Paris Nation Hotel
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charma

Address: 14 B rue des Maraichers | 20 Arr., 75020 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,464 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $120 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style of hotel and ambience The Charma Hotel in Paris provides its guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The modern rooms are painted in warm colours. The hotel pays great attention to service and cordiality. The breakfast can be served in the common room or in the small garden when the weather is fine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Charma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charma Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing