We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Paris Hotel - don't write this one off”
Review of Hotel Charma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Charma
Ranked #1,469 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Charma - nearest Metro to the hotel is Porte De Vincennes which is literally 2 minutes away - although worth knowing Hotel is 10 minutes walk from Place De La Nation where you can buy RER train ticket to Eurodisney (Chessey) for E14 return.
The hotel is one of two hotels situated at the bottom of Rue des Maraichers - on a quiet road across from the ugliest office/government building in Paris - don't expect any views no matter what level or side of the building your room is on.
Be aware - if you stay here you will need to use the metro to get about - we walked into Paris via the Bastille and then criss/crossed the river - it was a full day sightseeing and we needed to get the metro back (our poor, blistered feet insisted).

Pros: Hotel reception is small, clean and welcoming - I found all the reception staff friendly and helpful. The hotel has a creaky old lift which is an adventure in itself but it adds to the charm - the room had clean sheets and towels...and breakfast although very basic was fresh (a roll/a croissant - jam - cereals or yoghurt if you ask and tea/coffee). Two supermarkets at end of road selling water, fruit juice etc till late at night - limited places to eat out - a few restaurants at the Nation, but a reasonably priced little pizzeria directly across the road. Also if you turn right out of the hotel and walk up Rue des Maraichers - Rue Davron has a number of coffee shops and pubs - plus if you want something cheap to eat - Ali Baba2 offers a range of kebab style food.
Cons: Rooms are very small and the walls are thin - no secrets if you want a romantic couple break. Not a lot of selection for restaurants nearby.
OVerall view - a reasonable hotel to use as a base to see Paris without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine_ashdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Charma
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank cptam
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for two nights during a business trip to Paris.
Pros:
Really nice, friendly and helpful stuff
Clean and quiet room
Safe location
Cheap parking space available
Cons:
Breakfast is really ridiculous (french standard)
Rooms are small (always in Paris)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackMco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The room was nice and cheep but its location could be closer to the city.

The short distance to the metro helped to improve the location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed there 3 weeks ago. I forget my mac book pro charger. I write 4 times. they did not turn back to me. I still wait to send my charger. We will see what will happen. Moreover hotel place good near to main metro station. Bur it not center of paris. After midnight you have take taxi for turn back to hotel. Roomas are clear but ı little bit small. But ıf we look price range of the hotel. It is good for stay for thay prize

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank tayfursonkaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have stayed in 3 different places in Paris and this really is the worst of the 3, I realise it is expensive to stay in Paris and all rooms are small but definitely below standard and we only stay 2-3 star whenever we travel in Europe. Very small, out of town and the walls were so thin we could hear everything in the next room, in hallway, outside. Much better option would be to stay in an apartment right in the city which we did previously and for the same price and a much higher standard.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Just got back from paris and stayed at hotel charma. group of 10 people. Rooms were clean. Yes they were small but fine. Good location round the corner from the metro to see all the sites of paris. !!! Wonderful!!! Staff were lovely. places to eat and drink in the area. Drinks very exspensive in paris. Food not too bad for prices. Depends where you go to eat.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chelsea369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Hotel Comete Paris
#41 of 1,804 in Paris
166 reviews
Tamaris Hotel
#1,559 of 1,804 in Paris
86 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Le Twelve
Hotel Le Twelve
#1,349 of 1,804 in Paris
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Best Western Plus 61 Paris Nation Hotel
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Charma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Charma

Address: 14 B rue des Maraichers | 20 Arr., 75020 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,469 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $120 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style of hotel and ambience The Charma Hotel in Paris provides its guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay. The modern rooms are painted in warm colours. The hotel pays great attention to service and cordiality. The breakfast can be served in the common room or in the small garden when the weather is fine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Charma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charma Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing