We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfy hotel with helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Ranked #281 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Puyricard, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Clean, comfy hotel with helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and found the room clean and more than adequate. The location was very convenient to 3 Metro stops and an RER station to Charles de Gaulle Airport. The front desk staff (especially Ben) were very informative and helpful with near-by restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    285
    42
    4
    2
See reviews for
124
307
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were a family group of five who searched long and hard for a traditional hotel in Paris at a reasonable rate - with the Hotel de la Paix we were thoroughly delighted. The rooms were cozy (!) but well furnished, with character and ideal for our needs. We had two standard and one superior room. The hotel staff were at all times most helpful, cheerful and kind - accomodating several requests with alacrity. We had not planned taking the hotel's continental breakfast at €9.00 each but in the end it set up our day nicely - the orange juice tasted like it come straight from the tree!

A big part of our selection was based on accommodating the limited mobilty of one of our party; with the metro and the 'L'Open bus' less than 50 metres from the hotel front door travel was a pleasure. We also - using trip advisor - were able to identify some fanstastic local restaurants - all less than a 5 min walk - which were wonderful and only added to the magic of the location.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that elevator stops mid floor - and is TINY. Better views from higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186605Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Obviously, for the price we paid, I was not expecting a luxory hotel. This is just a nice and simple hotel.
Positive - location and cleanliness
Negative - room with bad sound proofing. I could listen to every step of my neighbors, every door that was closed, etc. Of course, this is a problem also created by bad behaviour of other guests but the bad sound proofing definitely helps.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with three friends and we all loved it. Yes, its small but well laid out and contains everything you need. Its slightly quirky and the staff are very friendly and helpful. we hadn,t booked breakfast but ended up having it in the hotel for two of the mornings and it was just what we needed, coffee, croissants, cereal etc. There is a "bar" but its basically just a trolley in the reception area - good brandy though! The location is ideal, far enough out to be less tourist but near enough to be able to walk places - probably about 20 mins walk to the Seine? And the Raspail metro stop is practically right outside the door if you are tired ! If you are coming in by train from the airport the RER B stop at Port Royal is only a 5-10 min walk from the hotel. Will stay here the next time I'm in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eryngium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is very clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and 1 min away from the Raspail metro station. The area is very quiet so you'll be sure to get a good night's sleep. The staff was extremely helpful and nice and you can stay out late as there's a 24h consierge service. The bed was oddly short but this is maybe due to the small rooms. If you're very tall, better check the bed sizein advance. Overall, the hotel was perfect for our stay in Paris.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pilleri
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This review needs few words. Hotel de la Paix Montparnasse exceeds expectations from the moment you walk in the front door.

Firstly, it is located 50m from one Metro station, 100m from another. It is in the middle of a safe, up-market suburban neighbourhood filled with shops, restaurants, cafes, and apartments. We had the junior suite (1 double + 1 single) room 50, which was excellent. The small lift will be an experience but adds some extra charm to the staying experience. This surely has to be the best value for money property in Paris.

The rooms are newly renovated, very clean, and quite spacious for Paris. Double glazing blocks out street noise, and the air conditioning is very efficient. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. All spoke good English. It really is more like staying in someone's home (albeit a very large home) than a hotel.

The breakfast has little choice but you will find so many options within 100m of the front door, if you like something different. The only suggestion for improvement would be larger, softer bath towels and some glass tumbler glasses (rather than plastic) for the room.

Excellent stay of 4 nights that we enjoyed very much. Thank-you Hotel de la Paix.

Room Tip: For a little more space, choose the Junior Suite which is extremely well priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yoyo2603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed here two nights on either end of a trip to southern France. Chose based on other Trip Advisor reviews and easy access to Montparnasse station. Friendly, welcoming staff. Rooms are clean and charming. Room 40 was larger and quieter than Room 12. None of the rooms are large, but that's typical for Paris. Breakfast was a perfectly fine French standard - coffee, juice and croissants. The lift is small and quirky (careful stepping out onto the landing as others have said), but I only used it if I had to and took the steps on trips downstairs. Very walkable to Montparnasse station--it only took me 10-15 minutes with luggage. Also convenient to a number of restaurants, Luxembourg Gardens and St. Germain. I highly recommend and would stay here again on a future visit.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel5425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Aiglon Hotel
Aiglon Hotel
#192 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#243 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#260 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#69 of 1,811 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#332 of 1,811 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Property: Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Address: 225 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 1,811 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing