We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely (and convenient) hotel in the 14th arrondissement” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Ranked #328 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely (and convenient) hotel in the 14th arrondissement”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Couldn't think of a better place to stay in Paris . . . a charming little hotel away from the big ones near the tourist sites. Hotel de la Paix is a short walk from both the Metro and the RER to the airport, I loved this place because it felt like staying in a quaint little apartment building vs. a hotel. The staff was wonderful and offered great tips how where to go and the best stop to get off at to see view of Eiffel Tower (hint: it's not the Eiffel Tower stop). We stayed in a junior suite which had a double bed on one side of the room and a twin on the other side for our daughter. The room also had a small desk, ample storage space and had two showers which worked really well for us. Note, this hotel has a winding staircase along with a really cool lift that's big enough for 2-3 people without bags or 1 person with one bag.

Though I had previously suggested this hotel to my sister based only on what I'd seen on their website, once she stayed there and had such a positive experience I knew I couldn't stay anywhere else once I returned to Paris. Glad I made that decision!

Room Tip: Junior suite #36 has two sets of windows that open out to the Rue Raspail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TBell_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    300
    47
    5
    2
See reviews for
129
325
41
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We spent 8 lovely days in Paris at hotel de la Paix. This hotel, small and our idea of typically French, proved to be wonderful. A 5min walk from Raspail Metro station, it was located close to many delicious eateries, walking distance to Montparnassse Tower. Our room was decorated beautifully, had a very comfortable bed, desk, chairs, wardrobe & safe. No fridge and a compact ensuite which was clean with a very hot shower. Although on a busy road, it was extremely quiet unless you had the window open. The staff spoke English, some better than others, & were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was an extra charge. A small lift (for 1 &a suitcase) stopped vetween flores, and a fantastic tight, oval staircase took you either up or down to your room. All in all, we loved our stay, and were pleased with our choice booked online ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineB55Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights during our honeymoon and it really complimented our wonderful time in Paris. Located in the 14th but right near the Vavin and Raspail metro stops and a 20-30 min. walk from the Seine, it is incredibly convenient and allowed us to both walk or take the metro to other sights around the city. The surrounding neighborhood is a bit more residential and quieter, which made for a serene place to stroll and sleep. There are some lovely local bakeries, cheesemongers, and creperies just blocks away.

We found the room to be cozy but just what we needed. It was artfully decorated, clean, and comfortable with a newly-renovated bathroom. Note that the elevators only stop between floors, so you will have to carry your luggage up or down a few steps.

The staff is superb and incredibly helpful (both if you know and don't know French). My husband got sick during our trip, and the concierge really took care of us -- helped us call a doctor and also helped me heat up soup for him.

The 9 euro breakfast did seem expensive, but we realized it was because they serve a LOT of food (mostly baked goods). You will be stuffed afterward, but it's also possible to get items a la carte.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel has nice decor and is clean. The only complaint is the rooms are quite small, but for a central location (we walked to most places) that's expected. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed here for only one night in a room for 3. Happy with the room - small but as expected. Clean. Bathrooms tiny but fine (two bathrooms but only one had a toilet). Comfortable beds, nice character, good AC/heating. Basic toiletries provided, no tea/coffee etc in room that I found. Friendly service. Convenient location especially if travelling by train to other parts of France. Would have been nice if continental breakfast was included as the room was quite price, but overall we were pretty happy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neareststar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Great location, basic facility, close to tube station, friendly staff. We were able to keep all our bags with them when we checked out as our train was late evening.
The tube station is very close and very convenient to travel anywhere in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel...Sept. 26 - Oct. 2012. I can not say enough good things about it. It was utterly adorable and cozy and perfect. This was our first trip ever out of the United States. Our first encounter with Paris was magical, and this little hotel only added to our pleasure. The staff was so sweet and helpful. The location was great. We felt like we were out of the way, away from the crowds, but so close to the Raspail metro that we travelled everywhere easily. It felt like a genuine encounter with Paris, not a congested touristy cliche. I would HIGHLY recommend.

The rooms were very small and the bathroom even tinier, but impeccably clean and cutely decorated. I LOVED all of the vintage schoolhouse decor - school desks and shelves and books and reading charts and maps. Adorable. Our room opened onto the street, but with the windows sealed shut, it was silent. The king-size bed was very comfortable. The spiral stair was steep and creaky and we loved it. It just added to the ambiance. Even the tiny elevator was charming. Nothing like anything we've ever experienced in Texas!

We didn't plan to eat breakfast at the hotel, but after we tried it the first morning, we were hooked. We ate breakfast there every day. The two of us split one breakfast, which was 8 euros, I think. He drank the orange juice, I drank the French-pressed coffee (HEAVEN!!), and we split the bread basket in half. I claimed the chocolate croissant every morning. The little dining room was so homey and cozy, and each morning we met and talked with other guests from around the world. It was fun muddling through translations to communicate with sweet strangers.

Every day we logged miles and miles walking all over the city and visiting as many sights as we could squeeze in. And every night, as we returned to the hotel, we were met by the welcoming golden glow of our cozy temporary home. I cannot wait to travel to Paris again and stay at the "Hotel of Peace." I can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiloh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#280 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#288 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#56 of 1,793 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#365 of 1,793 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Property: Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Address: 225 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing