We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Friendly and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Ranked #278 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I head to Paris between Christmas and New Year and after extensive research chose the Hotel de la Paix based on Trip Advisor reviews and their own website, as offering good value for money . We were not disappointed with our choice at all.

Location: We arrived via Eurostar at Gare du Nord which was a straight line 4 on the Metro to Raspail. The journey was less than 30 minutes. We came out of the Metro stop and literally 2 or 3 minutes’ walk and there was the hotel. We also used this metro stop to take the 10 minute or so journey to Eiffel Tower on Line 6. We walked out of the hotel and turned right and after a few minutes’ walk we were in the area of Montparnasse with its many restaurants and bars and Galeries Lafayette.

Reception: The decor in reception was just like somebody's front room, very appealing and welcoming. The staff were very friendly and took our bags as we arrived at 1pm just before our room was ready, although the couple in front managed to get checked in at this time so its worth trying if you arrive before check in time.

Rooms: We had taken a superior and was on the 3rd floor facing the courtyard at the back of the hotel. In terms of traffic noise we never heard a thing, obviously being at the back would have helped. The room was small but that is to be expected in Paris but it was tastefully decorated and had a certain charm about it. There was a school desk beside the bed, that was very quirky but only added to the appeal of the room. The bathroom was spotlessly clean but I agree with other reviewers about the shower as the handle part protrudes too far into the cubicle area that it does get in the way whilst showering. Having said that the shower was powerful and very hot. We didn’t really watch the television as it was mostly French tv but there was a small flatscreen on the wall. There was a safe in the wardrobe but I couldn’t get it to work despite following the instructions! There was free Wi-Fi which seemed a little patchy on our phones but was fine with the iPad so we used this to look up local information whilst in the room.

Yes the staircase was spiral and a bit tricky to navigate but it didn’t bother us. We both managed to fit in the lift with my small suitcase and a holdall and we aren’t the smallest of people either, no one else would have got in but it was perfectly fine for 2.

We didn’t eat breakfast at the hotel so cant comment but it was 9 Euros if you wanted to.

Overall the location was excellent, the staff were friendly and spoke good English and the room was modern and very clean, what more could you ask for? We would not hesitate to return or recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bugsyboodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    286
    43
    4
    2
See reviews for
126
310
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights here from 13 December and would gladly return given the chance.

Its in a great location within Montparnasse, right next to a subway station. Other subway lines are a few minutes walk away, as are 2 RER stations(10 minutes or so away ) and it is in close proximity to shops, restaurants, cafes and a bizarrely large amount of cinemas.

Loved the interior and warm welcoming reception lounge. Getting to the rooms is fun in itself as its either up a tiny tiny lift or up a tight, squeeky wooden staircase - some may find that problematic, but I thought it added to the authentic, homestyle feel.

Room: did the job and is a decent size, although the shower cubicle is pretty cramped, it is hard to move without inadvertently moving the tap. Quirkiness continues in the decor and instead of a lounge style chair we had an old wooden school chair and school table, as well as a jotter containing hand written guest information.

The double glazing is exceptional at cutting out the exterior noise (it is on a fairly busy main road so this is needed) however it can get a little stuffy, even in the cold month that we went. Also the bed seemed to get exceptionally hot at times for some reason.

Staff were friendly and welcoming, and they `will store bags for you without issue. Overall it was clean, comfortable enough and in a superb location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

While some Americans might consider this room "small" we found it to work great for us! I would say that if we had more luggage we might have had more issues, but we traveled with 2 carry on sized cases and 2 personal cases as well as my large purse. 1 set fit in the cabinet in the room. The shower was a tiny bit small, I might have turned off the water with my hip during my first shower, but I got used to it.

We were on one of the rooms with the door facing the stairs, and still found it pretty quiet. We found this surprising as there was construction next door and we slept late a couple of our days there and were never bothered by construction noise.

The bed was comfortable and we did find the extra blankets in the cabinet helpful. We loved the view, and were shocked how much noise the great double windows kept out. The room was super clean and we found all the staff helpful. They spoke plenty of English for us to get the information we needed. We were also a half block from the metro and very close to the many bike for hire stations. We loved the location and would stay there on our next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank craftymcblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only spent one night in this hotel but we had a nice time. The hotel is very easy to find, within minutes away from 2 metro stations. You can catch no.4 line directly from Gare du Nord without changing. The hotel is situation in Montparnasse neighbourhood with nice cafes and restaurants. Not too far to walk to the main sights if you like walking in Paris.The room was simple and nicely decorated. The hotel was on a main road but we never hear any road noise from our room. We had the choice to have breakfast in our room (no extra charge), the breakfast was reasonably priced and good. We would stay there again the next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hotel was clean and quiet. The staff was great - especially Ben.
There is a small restaurant across the street to the right on the corner as you exit the hotel. Avoid this place at all costs. The menu prices are NOT what you are charged.

Room Tip: elevator stops at mid floor - so you'll need to carry luggage up/down a few steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I picked this hotel as part of a birthday trip to the French Open for my other half. We were delighted with this hotel as it is important to us to balance value for money with a certain standard of room and we felt that the Hotel de la Paix delivered this for us. We like to stay in a boutique hotel but hate paying a steep price for it, and I would say this hotel provides a nicely decorated and maintained room, clean and modern bathroom for a good price. The rooms are small which is the trade-off however you are in central Paris and how much time are you planning on spending in your room anyway? I'd rather the rooms were clean and well-looked after than large and tired. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and polite, which we appreciated, and we were very handy for the Metro or for walking around the city. The lifts are tiny and the half landing / stairs combo was quite amusing, but absolutely not a problem and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I can't comment on breakfast as we stayed on a room only basis and were out and about from quite early in the day. My top tip for enjoying the area would be when looking for somewhere to eat/drink in the evening, come out the hotel and turn right, walk down to the main crossroads, cross that road, and keep going straight down if you want a real sense of Montparnasse. It's easy to get distracted at that junction with the amount of bars and restaurants there but I would say it's worth going that litle bit further.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel and had no problems whatsoever with noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quite_particular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great independent hotel that make you feel like home
close to metro station with 2 far reaching metro line and 3 minutes from the main Montparnasse brasserie.
easy to arrive at from Orly with Orlybus.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Aiglon Hotel
Aiglon Hotel
#191 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#255 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,682 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#287 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#339 of 1,812 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#69 of 1,812 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Property: Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Address: 225 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 1,812 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing