We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and homely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Ranked #515 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights here from 13 December and would gladly return given the chance.

Its in a great location within Montparnasse, right next to a subway station. Other subway lines are a few minutes walk away, as are 2 RER stations(10 minutes or so away ) and it is in close proximity to shops, restaurants, cafes and a bizarrely large amount of cinemas.

Loved the interior and warm welcoming reception lounge. Getting to the rooms is fun in itself as its either up a tiny tiny lift or up a tight, squeeky wooden staircase - some may find that problematic, but I thought it added to the authentic, homestyle feel.

Room: did the job and is a decent size, although the shower cubicle is pretty cramped, it is hard to move without inadvertently moving the tap. Quirkiness continues in the decor and instead of a lounge style chair we had an old wooden school chair and school table, as well as a jotter containing hand written guest information.

The double glazing is exceptional at cutting out the exterior noise (it is on a fairly busy main road so this is needed) however it can get a little stuffy, even in the cold month that we went. Also the bed seemed to get exceptionally hot at times for some reason.

Staff were friendly and welcoming, and they `will store bags for you without issue. Overall it was clean, comfortable enough and in a superb location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachwelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 700 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

While some Americans might consider this room "small" we found it to work great for us! I would say that if we had more luggage we might have had more issues, but we traveled with 2 carry on sized cases and 2 personal cases as well as my large purse. 1 set fit in the cabinet in the room. The shower was a tiny bit small, I might have turned off the water with my hip during my first shower, but I got used to it.

We were on one of the rooms with the door facing the stairs, and still found it pretty quiet. We found this surprising as there was construction next door and we slept late a couple of our days there and were never bothered by construction noise.

The bed was comfortable and we did find the extra blankets in the cabinet helpful. We loved the view, and were shocked how much noise the great double windows kept out. The room was super clean and we found all the staff helpful. They spoke plenty of English for us to get the information we needed. We were also a half block from the metro and very close to the many bike for hire stations. We loved the location and would stay there on our next trip to Paris!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craftymcblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We only spent one night in this hotel but we had a nice time. The hotel is very easy to find, within minutes away from 2 metro stations. You can catch no.4 line directly from Gare du Nord without changing. The hotel is situation in Montparnasse neighbourhood with nice cafes and restaurants. Not too far to walk to the main sights if you like walking in Paris.The room was simple and nicely decorated. The hotel was on a main road but we never hear any road noise from our room. We had the choice to have breakfast in our room (no extra charge), the breakfast was reasonably priced and good. We would stay there again the next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsyag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Hotel was clean and quiet. The staff was great - especially Ben.
There is a small restaurant across the street to the right on the corner as you exit the hotel. Avoid this place at all costs. The menu prices are NOT what you are charged.

Room Tip: elevator stops at mid floor - so you'll need to carry luggage up/down a few steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tom s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I picked this hotel as part of a birthday trip to the French Open for my other half. We were delighted with this hotel as it is important to us to balance value for money with a certain standard of room and we felt that the Hotel de la Paix delivered this for us. We like to stay in a boutique hotel but hate paying a steep price for it, and I would say this hotel provides a nicely decorated and maintained room, clean and modern bathroom for a good price. The rooms are small which is the trade-off however you are in central Paris and how much time are you planning on spending in your room anyway? I'd rather the rooms were clean and well-looked after than large and tired. The staff were very pleasant, friendly and polite, which we appreciated, and we were very handy for the Metro or for walking around the city. The lifts are tiny and the half landing / stairs combo was quite amusing, but absolutely not a problem and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. I can't comment on breakfast as we stayed on a room only basis and were out and about from quite early in the day. My top tip for enjoying the area would be when looking for somewhere to eat/drink in the evening, come out the hotel and turn right, walk down to the main crossroads, cross that road, and keep going straight down if you want a real sense of Montparnasse. It's easy to get distracted at that junction with the amount of bars and restaurants there but I would say it's worth going that litle bit further.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel and had no problems whatsoever with noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quite_particular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great independent hotel that make you feel like home
close to metro station with 2 far reaching metro line and 3 minutes from the main Montparnasse brasserie.
easy to arrive at from Orly with Orlybus.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramsayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is a small boutique hotel, rooms (as with most capital cities) are very small. Bathroom even smaller - just enough room to get out of the shower.

It was clean and tidy.

Bed was a standard uk double - not particularly comfortable.

Room was very basic, just a desk, desk chair, wardrobe, bed and bedside tables.

It was okay but nothing to write home about.

Be warned its located on a busy road and quite hard to find - every taxi driver struggled to find it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lausey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MathJb, Directeur général at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Madam,
I just read your review, and I am very sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay at the Hotel.
Some friends of you, who stayed at the same time at the hotel, was satisfied, as "Clarice 171, on October 16th 2012.
For information, at the hotel de la Paix Montparnasse, we have 5 differents type of rooms, with differents sizes.

About the location of the hotel, we are located on the Boulevard Raspail, one of the most famous boulevard of Paris.

Danièle, Christine, Benjamin, Maher, François-Xavier, and I, are staying at your disposal for any further information, and I hope, with my answer at the your review, that you will decide, for your next trip to Paris, to stay again at the hotel de la Paix Montparnasse.

Best Regards,

Mathieu Renaudin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#292 of 1,805 in Paris
649 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#87 of 1,805 in Paris
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#789 of 1,805 in Paris
540 reviews
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#269 of 1,805 in Paris
1,867 reviews
Hotel Eiffel Capitol
#339 of 1,805 in Paris
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Address: 225 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #515 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $106 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing