We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Digs in a Historic Setting”
Review of Hotel Lumen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lumen
Ranked #352 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
282 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Modern Digs in a Historic Setting”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel. The location is fabulous, the staff are extremely helpful, and the contemporary decor is inspired. My only concern was one day I came back and the maid had left the balcony doors open which is a security concern. The bathroom door slams shut automatically and there is no bathroom fan or ventilation, which is my only real complaint about the room. If you want to take a shower and then do your makeup, the mirror is fogged up and you have to stuff a towel to prop open the bathroom door to air it out. The maid's solution was to leave the balcony door open. However the rest of the experience there was such that I would recommend this hotel, and I will stay here again. 2 blocks from the Louvre and Tuileries, about 6 blocks to the opera house, walking distance to D'Orsay, metro stop close by. The restaurant Oscar has a lovely and convenient breakfast. The restaurant patio that looks out to the church behind would be great in warm weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuanaRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Luana,
Thank you for your feedback.
I am pleased to see that you had a lovely stay overall, however, there is an issue that you mention that need to be adressed. Allow me to comment on your observation:
Housekeeping - The fact that your window was left opened is unacceptable and there is no excuse for that. Please accept our apologies for that inconvenience. I will bring this matter up with the persons concerned. Also we will work on improving the bathroom in adding a ventilation system.
Be sure that we will do our best to find a solution.
We would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre in the future.
Best regards,
Adeline Surault
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    244
    74
    23
    14
See reviews for
82
320
61
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Lumen over the holidays for a week and had a very pleasant experience. Every day my room was cleaned with fresh towels and toiletries. Room was made up and clean and hotel staff were very friendly. The front desk staff were helpful. I liked the view from my hotel room as it felt very Parisian. The only complaint was the old elevator that had doors that got stuck for a minute on my way up. Other than that, I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it was minutes away from the Metro, the Louvre, and walkable to everything.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanillaBeanCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your kind comments with us.
I am very sorry about what happened with our elevator.
In fact it is a new one, we have it since we opened the Hotel in September 207 so about 5 years ago.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you again at the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre.
All my best.
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

beside the room that was very small, everything was amazing, the welcoming, breakfast, the shower all was great and the location is one of the best. the wifi quality at the room is very poor as well only when you go downstairs you can have a wifi signal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thai0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding our WIFI quality, I am very sorry about that. It seems that we had some issues during your stay with the connexion in the rooms. Everything is fixed now.
Please accept my sincere apologize for it.
I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Lumen soon.
Sincerely.
Adeline SURAULT
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have just had a 3 day break at this hotel in Paris. The location is superb with all the attractions such as the Louvre, the Eiffel Tower, Arc De Triomphe and the Champs-Elysees within walking distance. The hotel sent us directions from the airport which were easy to follow and a quick way of reaching it. The hotel is spotlessly clean with a modern décor. It has a great Italian restaurant, Oscars which is has a nice ambience and a good menu. However the menu is a little limited for anyone on a gluten free diet. Breakfast in the morning is also excellent. The staff in the hotel and the Restaurant was both helpful and friendly. A nice touch on our departure was a complimentary bottle of water each for our onward journey. A great break.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for shaing your experience at the Lumen.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding our restaurant and the menu for people on a gluten free diet, I agree with you that it is a little bit limited but what I can suggest for next time is to let us know before your arrival so our chef Dominique could propose something different.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon.
My best regards.
Adeline SURAULT
Sales Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The location of this hotel is pretty hard to beat, literally a stone's throw from the Louvre with Rue St Honoré basically on the door step and a metro station on the corner - we found this to be the perfect place to use for our exploration of Paris.

The decor of the hotel is very smart, a real boutique feel. We had to take a larger room than we originally wanted as the smaller rooms were fully booked. That said, whilst the room was a very decent size it wasn't enormous - but was perfect for our purpose. The bathroom was nicely appointed and a good size too and we were fortunate to have a room on the corner, so had great views out of our full height windows.

The breakfast was plentiful and generally pretty decent, we certainly didn't feel the need to supplement what we had in any of the nearby cafes. However, for the price and bearing in mind it has a restaurant on the premises, it could perhaps have been more sophisticated - but I am perhaps being overly critical as the food provided was certainly very good and set us up very well for a full day of exploring.

The service was very good at all times, very courteous and professional. My only gripe - and this is the case with all Parisian hotels - is the price. It is a very expensive city to stay in

No complaints at all about this hotel, would happily recommend it to others and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: 508 was a great room, lovely sized bedroom, bathroom a good size and lovely views through three larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1chBenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing this review about Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon.
Please feel free to check our website, we have a lot of good promotions: early booking offers or last minute stays.
Sincerely.
Adeline SURAULT
Sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned from a three night stay at Hotel Lumen. We had an absolutely fantastic stay with them. We were very kindly upgraded so had a beautiful room with a balcony and views of the Louvre, which was beautiful.

The location is perfectly placed for both the Rue St Honore and the Louvre, with most main attractions within walking distance if you like to travel on foot.

Breakfast was a lovely little buffet, my only suggestion would be to add more fresh fruit as I found it, as well as most food in Paris, quite carb heavy.

Our only negative would be to do with booking cabs via the hotel. We booked to be taken back to Gare du Nord, which would be about 12 euros in a street taxi. However, the hotel did not tell us that a surcharge of 9 euros is added to the journey just for booking through them. I found this a little naughty as we had to stop and get more cash and a street taxi would have been cheaper and easier.

Overall though, beautiful hotel, beautiful rooms and a beautiful location. A must if staying in Paris.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room, views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CiaraHaidar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your kind comments and for taking the time to share your impressions with us.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us .
We took good notes of your comments regarding our Buffet breakfast, and we will work on it to improve it.
Regarding the taxi, I am so sorry that the front desk did not tell you about the surcharge when you call a taxi in Paris.
I hope to welcome you back in the future .
Adeline SURAULT
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was amazing, it was central to all the major tourist attractions, it's decor was modern and it added a little bit of glamour to our perfect weekend away!!! The concierge was fantastic and helped us to plan to make the most of our time in Paris!!! The only downside for me was that there was no tea/coffee facilities in the room, so we had to find some beautiful cafes, so it wasn't that much of a problem.
All in all a perfect place to stay when visiting Paris!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre and for posting your comments.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the coffee facilities in the room, unfortunately this is not available at the Lumen. In fact as our restaurant O'scar is open every days and have a wonderful terrasse with a view on the Saint Roch Church, we thought that it was a good alternative for our guests.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back in Paris in the future.

Best regards.
Adeline SURAULT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#353 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#180 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#248 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#182 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen

Property: Hotel Lumen
Address: 15 rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#221 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#343 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#369 Business Hotel in Paris
#422 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lumen 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant designer boutique hotel situated in the most sought-after area of Paris, the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre is just a stone’s throw away from the Louvre, the Place Vendôme and the Opera House. Located on the corner of Rue Saint Honoré, a fashionable Paris shopping boulevard, the hotel is “the place to be,” either for a business trip, a romantic getaway, a shopping excursion or an entertaining evening in the City of Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Lumen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing