We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location but can do better for a 4 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
Ranked #1,127 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed July 21, 2014

chose to stay here because of its rave reviews but it was a disappointment for us, paid 189 euros for a night. Gave it a three star because of the service provided by the concierge and reception on our arrival 28th june , got an early check in and were friendly and when we check out and left our luggage at the concierge (29th june) and its location but was not impressed by few things:

1. the reception service at our first night there 28th june evening, while I was waiting for my boyfriend to come back from the shops he actually asked me "Do you have a room here?" with a condescending look while I was sitting at the sofa with shopping bags. would not even get that kind of treatment in a three star hotel. It was my first time ever to be asked that kind of question.

2. the room - safety deposit box was not working, curtain could not be drawn across, cracked hair dryer on its side, made it impossible to hold on to it for more than 2 mins. we have to get our own dental kit from the reception itself. i know this is not a 5 star but still it's a 4 star and it's a mercure which supposed to be good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear Emma,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Hotel Mercure Paris Terminus Nord and for taking the time to share your comments.

Allow me to tell you how truly we regret your disappointment regarding your stay with us. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention in your review, especially with your feeling following the way our reception staff asked you the question and with your disappointment regarding the condition of your room. This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party.
Furthermore if you need any more assistance for your future reservation, feel free to contact me at jean-louis.descoins@book-inn-france.com.

By hoping that we will find back your trust and will have the chance to welcome you another time.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 2,343 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

THe hotel it is very good. We needed to do a early check in, so we sent an email to the hotel who answered our request politely and without charge nothing more for it. The room is not very big, but it is comfortable and has everything that you could need. The bathroom is big, old and very clean. The staff were very attentive and friendly. The bed is comfortable. The hotel is located directly across the Terminus Nord, so it is not the best location for tourists, but you can take subways to anywhere in Paris at the station which is next to the hotel. I would stay again at this hotel and I would recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thais G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.

The fact that you mention that you would stay again and recommend our hotel to your friends means a lot to us!

We love to read that you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the friendly service of our staff which we shared with the entire team!

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three days at the end of a Great Rail Journey holiday. The staff are very friendly and there is a nice atmosphere in the hotel. The breakfasts are excellent and the dining room is very well run. It looks out on the Gard du Nord so its very interesting to watch people coming and going from such a busy station. The room we had was very comfortable but the bathroom needed a bit of TLC. Also some of the corridors need a paint-its a well used hotel! However this would not put me off going back there again. We had drinks in the bar every night and again the waiters were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank marian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Dear Marian,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.
The fact that you mention that our hotel has a nice atmosphere means a lot to us!
We love to read that you enjoyed that you found your room very comfortable and that we provide a very friendly service ! Because that is exactly what we want for you and our visitors.

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for a few days in June and were very pleased with the accommodation. The breakfast was excellent; the view of the station and Sacre Coeur was superb. It was surprisingly quiet and there were lots of restaurants and eating places nearby. The metro entrance was outside the front door and it was very handy for our return trip to London. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Jandl,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.

The fact that you mention that you were very pleased with the accommodation that we provided you means a lot to us!
We love to read that you enjoyed the superb view on the Sacré Coeur and our very helpful staff !

We thank you for your compliments that have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to have you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

A bit tired for a mercure, but for paris i would recommend this hotel.
Don't expect to be blown away but do expect a good level of service, clean rooms and a very convenient location. Directly opposite Gare du Nord it,s ideal for late paris arrivals with 24 hr reception. Plenty of good places to eat within the immediate vicinity at varying price points.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
4  Thank ribs160379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.

The fact that you mention that you recommend our hotel to stay in Paris means a lot to us!
We love to read that you enjoyed our good level of service and our convenient location !

We hope to have you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Read some of the reviews and knew from previous experience with an enforced layover in Paris when we were put up by Eurostar in a nearby hotel, that we could be in for a rough ride!
However having paid a rack rate of 200 Euros for a privilege room I was pleasantly surprised by the standard and size of the room we were given on the 5th floor.
Yes some of the fixtures in the room were chipped and some signs of wear in the bathroom sink and floor tiles but overall it was of a good standard. Pluses were the coffee machine and kettle / tea and complimentary soft drinks in the small in room fridge. Bed was a good size and we slept well for the one night we were there. Room 526 overlooked the front of the station and had a small balcony onto which you had access through the three sets of French windows. Slight ingress of traffic noise and emergecy sirens but nothing to write home about...There is air con in the room which was adequate.
Took breakfast and paid 17 Euro which was reasonable as you get a full buffet, cereals, juices, bacon / sausage & scrambled / boiled eggs & a cold meat / cheese station. Nice breakfast room overlooking the front.
Also had a drink in the bar, good selection & reasonable prices...overall a very good stay, we came here from another Paris hotel where we had a very good stay as it was handy for the Eurostar and also for a walk up to the Sacre Coeur & Montmartre.
Staff we encountered were all friendly, the area can be dodgy at night as it has become a melting pot for all sorts of characters but for a short stopover it was no problem...well recommended..

Room Tip: Privilege room overlooking station, 5 th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExpatKL88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.

We love to read that you enjoyed the comfort of room 526 and the breakfast room overlooking the beautiful front of the station Gare du Nord !

We thank you for your recommendations and compliments that have been shared with the entire team.

We hope to have you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Whistler
Hotel Whistler
#184 of 1,803 in Paris
95 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#180 of 1,803 in Paris
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#802 of 1,803 in Paris
766 reviews
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#415 of 1,803 in Paris
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Terminus Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Terminus Nord

Address: 21 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#472 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $116 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Terminus Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 236 airconditioned rooms, located near the Gare du Nord (Eurostar & Thalys), Stade de France (5min), Paris Nord Exhibition Centre (15 min), Roissy & Le Bourget airports (20 min). Dedicated to business & leisure, this hotel will seduce you withits high level of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Paris Terminus Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing