We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
Ranked #1,172 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed April 3, 2013

For anyone arriving at or departing from Gare du Nord, the location of this hotel is perfect. One has only to cross the road. The hotel has many interesting features, and its architecture, built around a central circular staircase, means that rooms are not 'standard', but have quirky shapes and details. The room we were in looked directly across to the station, but was not unduly noisy. It was fairly large by Parisian standards, with a decent-sized bathroom - (it was a 'Privilège' room, at a higher price) - but the bath fittings were showing their age, with chipped enamel, etc. Breakfast was perfectly adequate, with a reasonable selection of items. Some confusion was created by the hotel's own website. I had taken up their invitation to opt for breakfast, at 17 euros per person, and added this to the total for the room. Having entered my credit card details, I then received confirmation that the total - both room and breakfast - had been prepaid. However, when I mentioned this on checking in, the receptionist maintained that it had not been prepaid. I showed him my written confirmation to the contrary, and he seemed not to be able to understand my confusion. The following morning, on checking out, I was required to pay again. However, the receptionist was much more understanding, admitting that there appeared to be a discrepancy between what the website was saying, and the total amount that the hotel was actually deducting. She assured me that, when my credit card statement appeared, I would find that in fact the breakfast would not have been deducted twice. I hope that she is right! In the meantime, I also hope that the website will harmonise itself with the actual practice of the hotel, to avert worry for customers. Next time, if I stay there again, I will probably avoid prepaying for the breakfast, and simply arrange it upon arrival.

Room Tip: decide whether you wish to face the station or the inner well (the latter quieter).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridges012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

945 - 951 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

For travelling by train and touring Paris the location of the Mercure Paris Terminus Nord is nearly perfect. For us at least it was strikingly convenient to exit our high speed Thalys from Germany at the Gare Du Nord, walk less than 50 meters through the hectic station hall, exit the building and finding our hotel located right across a moderately busy, nicely designed, typical Parisian avenue with no barriers to face except one traffic light and a revolving hotel entrance door. We had our key cards around 5 minutes after stepping out of the train; a couple of minutes later we were looking out on the impressive facade of the Gare from our room; and after dumping our luggage there we could step down into the metro literally right outside the same revolving hotel door and be well on our way to catch a narrow restaurant booking in the Tour Eiffel, which we met with ample margin. The hotel is maybe on the expensive side, although we got a fair deal though Mercure’s own site, and it may at times feel a bit cramped in critical places such as reception, elevator and breakfast room, but it was really nothing that bothered us. Any such drawbacks were more than outweighed by the friendly, expedient staff, the overall quality of the room, which was practical, clean, surprisingly (for Paris) spacious, and well insulated from street noise, and as said the really convenient location of the hotel. There are many places to stay in Paris, but I would consider this hotel again especially for visits involving sightseeing and rail travel. Note, we only stayed one night, two adults one child 11 years old.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MobileDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Well-located hotel for Eurostar, with small but very comfortable rooms.

Welcoming reception and good breakfast spread in mornings.

Wi-fi works for free throughout the hotel and with a good signal.

Many newspapers, French and English, at no charge, at hand in the Hall.

Beds and pillows are quite good but sheets of cheap, rough cotton.

Silence is golden at rear of hotel and sleep is guaranteed for sure.

But bathrooms have been cheaply refurbished and showing signs of war.

This hotel has been upgraded and renovated but the attention to detail is poor.

The cleaning in corridors, lifts and public areas leaves much to be desired.

The management needs to visit and give a clear instructions vis a vis how to improve matters.

Over all, good value but with many caveats.

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of hotel are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterStreetwise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the past 10 years and there is no doubting that it's location is excellent - right across the road from the Gare du Nord so perfect for EuroStar and Metro access. Having said that, the hotel is looking increasingly tired and needs to be updated to justify the prices being charged (319 Euros for bed only in a Premier room - breakfast was an additional 34 Euros). On my 4 night stay, the bar was closed on the Sunday and closed early on the Monday at 21:30 - when I went there at 21:30 it looked as if it had been closed for some time! In the past, I have had a view across the road to the Gare du Nord but, this time, the view was of an inner skylight and other bedrooms. Paint was flaking in some areas and there was a hole in the ceiling by one of the lights. I'll definitely be back in Paris, but will probably look for a hotel that provides better value for money even ifc the location is not as good

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view of the Gare du Nord
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hotel is old and shabby, rooms small and noisy, but you can't beat comming from the airport express at nord station, walkin across the street and your in your room. Same the next day , 5 min. Walk on to the eurostar trains. Neighborhood is OK, some small brs nd restaurants on the block. Big bonus, hop on hop off bus stops directly in front of this hotel. I hoped it for he day and say a lot of Paris, then the bus brought me back in time for dinner.

Rooms were clean, service staff snotty, and prices reasonable.



P

Room Tip: Ask for a high room ( like floor 5 or 6) facing the train station. Your window allows for some inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aybc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great location hotel! just opposite to Gare du Nord where there are several train links; Metro, RER, and TGV. Bus stop also available in front.
Guest room is big enough for double or twin room but a bit pricy.
Breakfast and free WIFI are quite good, could access social network continually.
The only disappointed is Service from guy receptionists (ladies are in good service) and porter whose become gentle when got some tips.
If you need to use luggage store service (no charge) while traveling to other place, make sure you'll back to stay same hotel. Unless, the porter will refuse to allow keeping your luggage.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanyakoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night in February 2013, in Paris to watch Wales play France in the RBS 6 Nations. Friendly and very helpful reception staff allowed us to check in early after a difficult journey from the airport, due to engineering works. The room was comfortable, the bathroom was fine, although the sink was showing its age, but the shower was good. Breakfast very good - would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Whistler
Hotel Whistler
#16 of 1,809 in Paris
211 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#784 of 1,809 in Paris
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#195 of 1,809 in Paris
624 reviews
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Timhotel Paris Gare Du Nord
Timhotel Paris Gare Du Nord
#1,589 of 1,809 in Paris
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Terminus Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Terminus Nord

Address: 21 Rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#486 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range: $117 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Terminus Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 236 airconditioned rooms, located near the Gare du Nord (Eurostar & Thalys), Stade de France (5min), Paris Nord Exhibition Centre (15 min), Roissy & Le Bourget airports (20 min). Dedicated to business & leisure, this hotel will seduce you withits high level of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mercure Paris Terminus Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing