We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place to stay in Paris!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pension Residence du Palais
Ranked #98 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Killeberg, Sweden
Level Contributor
182 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“My favourite place to stay in Paris!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is not a chain hotel (hurrah!). If you are looking for staff in uniforms, don't stay here. These are rooms in a residence - basically someone's house. I love the personal touches and informality - if you are a Grinch looking for a 5* room put your hand in your pocket and stay somewhere else! You don't get something for nothing. This is in one of the best arrondisments in Paris where rooms typically cost 300E+ a night. The reason this is so affordable is because it's no frills - there is a toilet at each end of the corridor (on a floor of 5 double rooms) and a shower in each room. Which makes sense because you're probably happy to use a public toilet in a restaurant but you don't want to be walking the corridors in a towel. Our room was immaculate and spacious, overlooking the street and the park. The typically French bread-jam-and-coffee breakfast was good and the wifi connection just fine. I liked the DVD players in every room and loved the resident cats, Felix and Garfield. The staff were super too, we felt so at home. Thank you!

Room Tip: We had room 5 which was inbetween the dining room and reception so no direct neighbours, plus a WC a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travellingcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    47
    20
    20
See reviews for
46
64
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bielsko-biała
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Good place to stay for a budget trip in a good location. However, the rooms are equipped with old furniture that barely holds together and the shower is tiny. Everything squeeks. It's quite clean from what I can tell but the walls need repainting. For certain travellers only.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Well, it started off ok. We arrived outside the place which is located right opposite the Luxembourg Gardens. It is about a 25 minute walk to the Eiffel Tower and 10-15mins walk to Louvre. Most other things would require the metro or a VERY long walk. The 'hotel' didn't really have any signs to say it was there and even the taxi driver looked mystified when he pulled up at the address. Eventually we realised after a good look that it was the right place. It is certainly not a hotel, more of a bed and breakfast (minus the breakfast!). The owner (father) greeted us and was very pleasant, as was his son. His wife obviously spoke limited english, and she was fairly rude throughout our stay....I don't think she actually knows how to smile. If it wasn't for the young boy (son) who helped us a few times throughout our stay this rating would probably be lower! The son checked us in (room payment in advance) and advised us that breakfast was between 7:30am and 9am - we felt this was ridiculous. What sort of accommodation stops breakfast that early?

The place is a fairly old rustic building and a little run down. Reception is on the 2nd floor and our room was on the 4th floor. Long creaky hallways with the toilets at each end (no toilets in bedrooms). The room was an ok size with a double bed and a single bed which we used to lay our luggage out. There is a sink and shower in the room, but these are basically only separated from the rest of the room by small partition. This place obviously has plumbing issues, as every time the room above us had a shower the pipes would start making all sorts of noises and our shower drain would start spitting dirty water up into the shower tray...yummy!! There was a small balcony for the room which would be ok to use in the warmer months. The bed was comfortable, but the walls are paper thin - no word of a lie I could hear the person on the OTHER end of the phone that the person in the neighboring room was speaking to!! They also don't even supply you with soap in the room or anywhere at all to hang your wet towels so that they actually dry.

Breakfast was disgraceful! The first 2 mornings we didn't get up in time for breakfast due to the ridiculous hours they serve it at. On the 3rd morning we got up, and we were in the 'breakfast' room by 8:15. What we found was literally shocking. A table with literally NOTHING on it!! An empty basket and some small packet spreads!! There was a lady in the room who obviously saw our shocked faces and went and spoke to another staff member who then bought out a basket of cut up plain french bread! I then thought i'd settle for a coffee out of the machine, even this didn't work!! Honestly, is this what they call breakfast?...I am unsure how this place is even allowed to advertise as supplying breakfast and charge for it! Just awful.

We also had issues with a man on reception - we asked him to call our Paris Shuttle company for our Airport transfer the next morning. He tried ringing them twice and told us the number was wrong and it wouldn't connect. He was very rude and abrupt when we asked him to try the number again. Needless to say we went back to our room and rang the number ourselves and it went through 1st time.

Overall we probably would not recommend this place to others. Even taking into account the relatively cheap cost of the place in an expensive city, I am sure you could find much better elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The room was clean and tidy and it was evident the owners took pride in the rooms and service. Location is excellent. Staff were friendly. Little balconies added charm to the room. Will gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

If all you need is somewhere to lay your head at night, then this is for you. The rooms are OK, "rustic" as they're described. I would say Its more in need of a bit of T.L.C.
Floors squeak very loudly, especially in the corridor and not helped by thin walls. The breakfast is not so good, so I avoided that after the first day. Plenty of cafes and boulangeries within a couple of minutes walk.
But, the price is good for Paris and the location is excellent, right next to the lovely Luxembourg Gardens. Plenty of shopping and great little restaurants nearby. The little cafe next door does a great coffee also.
The nearest Metro station (Vavin) is only 4 or 5 minutes walk. You can walk to the Latin quarter in about 10 to 15 minutes, going right by the Pantheon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrendanOC4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I don't even know where to start. As soon as we got there to check-in, we immediately got the vibe that we were a total inconvenience to the owners of this hostel/hotel/guesthouse whatever you want to call it. It seems like the place is run by an old lady and her son? No idea. Regardless, they were extremely rude - (and I'm French to begin with). We paid around 70 Euros per night/ for 2 nights.
So they give us our keys, we walk to our room..and basically the room is completely an open floor plan - has a full size bed, a twin size bed, a dresser, a sink, and a shower (with a glass wall)....visible for anyone in the room to see. So when you aren't travelling with a partner (as in my case, my brother, it's kind of an issue). According to the 'owner' - all of the rooms are this way. So basically, anytime we showered, one of us had to stare at the other wall to make sure we didn't see the other person.

Then, we lift up the bed sheets and I can't count how many hairs (of all shapes and sizes) were on the bed. So we go downstairs and ask the owner to change the sheets..they said they would do it by 8pm (it was 5pm at the time). 8pm roles around..and still nothing. We complain again because we literally couldn't sit anywhere...finally head out to dinner, the sheets were changed when we got back.

The next day (as I'm facing the wall) my brother takes a shower and as soon as he is done, we hear a loud noise and immediately a ton of brown gunk overflows the shower. We alert the staff and apparently this is a common occurance, so they clean it and go about their day.

That morning, we go down for the "free breakfast" which basically consists of dried up baguette and jam and tea/coffee.

I would never recommend this hostel to anyone. Seriously, I know Paris is expensive but do yourself a favor and spend the extra 20 Euros to get something at least decent.
This was horrendous beyond words.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sara932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jean Bart
Hotel Jean Bart
#1,310 of 1,802 in Paris
56 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Avenir
Hotel de l'Avenir
#1,494 of 1,802 in Paris
102 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#873 of 1,802 in Paris
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#104 of 1,802 in Paris
645 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Danemark Hotel
Danemark Hotel
#1,232 of 1,802 in Paris
118 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Perreyve Hotel
Perreyve Hotel
#1,113 of 1,802 in Paris
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Residence du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Residence du Palais

Property: Pension Residence du Palais
Address: 78 rue d Assas, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 166 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pension Residence du Palais 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pension Residence du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Palais Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing