We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Residence du Palais
Ranked #104 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Reviewed September 19, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tanja S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 177 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The residence was really authentic and it was nice to be staying in such a lovely area of Paris at such a cheap price! We were lucky enough to be able to see the Eiffel tower from our room and the area was very quiet at night so you could sleep well. The toilet across the hall was no problem but the see through glass shower was a bit of an issue. The breakfast was simply but was included in the price so was nice to get bread and coffee every morning! I would definitely recommend this residence to anyone wanting to stay in Paris, unless you wanted to stay in the height of luxury!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for five nights. It's in a good location in the Latin qtr across the road from the excellent Luxembourg Gardens. The place is ok enough and fairly cheap, for Paris at least. And we had a shower and sink in the room. However there are let downs too. The walls are old and thin, you unfortunately do hear others even if they aren't being particularly loud. The staff come in each day however they don't change the sheets or towels. They pull the sheets up and put the used towels back on the rack. But you have to re-use the dirty ones you were already using. Also you get a few shower gel/shampoo sachets, which may last you two nights, but they don't replace them. You have to literally go down and ask. Thirdly, breakfast finishes at 9, which is pretty darn early. In fact it finishes at 8.50 because we went down at 8.54 one day and we were told, or rather snapped at, that it's too late, we must come down at ten to nine. (I wondered, is this hotel's breakfast for the customers' convenience, or the staff's convenience?) Mind you we didn't miss much, all you get is bread (with butter and jams sachets) but you do get tea/coffee as well which is good. To sum-up, I'd stay here again, if I couldn't find anywhere else that cheap in this area. PS: you get a tv, but I hope you speak fluent French because there is zero English channels nor shows on it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Plantagenious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here end of august. It is a great location in Paris, maybe a bit far from Gare du Nord if you come by train. Very good value for money. We payed about 68 per night for 2 pp, but only via booking through hostelbookers website. The rooms are tidy and clean.
The only downside was the person working was a bit strict. Did not mention that the breakfast was included and was to be served until 9 am, so we arrived at 0915 without knowing. Normally breakfast is 5 eur a pp. We thought maybe they are not very happy after all, with guests who book through these economically sharp priced websites, which always include breakfast. And I can understand this, for them. At breakfast the next morning, we asked for some more bread, because there were only four top-baguette pieces left. The very hard pieces of the end of the bread when its almost finished. The lady working told us to finish this first and then she would refill. We found this not very servicelike, more the atmosphere of a youthhostel the way she adressed us. That was the only downside, this parent-childlike atmosphere.
Oh and the toilet was closed and out of order, so there was only one toilet for the whole floor. Butthat can be bad luck ofcourse..

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Perfect location - near Luxembourg gardens, in the quiet and romantic street with cosy shops, bakeries and icehouses. All the most famous places of Paris we reached on foot, except the Monmartre (metro station is 5 minute walk from residence).
Not very big, but cosy, clean room, perfect view from the window (from the 6th floor we saw the Eiffel Tower, Notre Dame Cathedral, Secrée-Coeur). We had only shower cabin and sink in our room, the toilet is in the hall, but we knew it before booking, so it wasn't surprise for us.
Staff is friendly, but not very good at English. Breakfast is a little bit boring - bread plus cheese, marmelade or nutella and coffe machine. We hadn't electric tea kettle in the room. But look at the price - for that price you can't expect five star hotel facilities and gourmet breakfast! I THINK IT IS THE BEST VALUE FOR MONEY IN PARIS, and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MindaugasLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Simple and inexpensive accommodations (toilet shared with two other rooms and a very small shower). Perfectly located in Paris on the Left Bank near the Jardin du Luxembourg. The owner speaks excellent English and was very helpful! Would definitely come again and recommend to friends.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Affordable and great location opposite the Luxembourg gardens. This is no sterile hotel- creaky floorboards covered in eastern carpets, useable antique furniture stuffed into your room, cute balconies with shutters and comfortable beds. There was a shower in my room with the toilet outside on the landing, but it actually was fine and although it's an old building full of character, it's spotlessly clean with very helpful and friendly staff. Great little corner cafe next door which also has WIFI, so a glass of wine or a meal is no great distance.

Room Tip: There is an elevator so a higher floor means a nicer view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jnine7-7-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#19 of 1,802 in Paris
472 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#94 of 1,802 in Paris
2,030 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#87 of 1,802 in Paris
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Residence du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Residence du Palais

Address: 78 rue d Assas, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range: $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pension Residence du Palais 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Residence du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Palais Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing