We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location alone gets this place its rating...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pension Residence du Palais

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Residence du Palais
Ranked #94 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location alone gets this place its rating...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

For the price, this place is outstanding. The rooms offer character in their high Corinthian ceilings and cosy, little balconies that open out onto very traditionally Parisian streets. Crucially, the rooms are clean and fairly spacious.

The fact that you have to walk 5-10 steps to a WC is certainly not something I would criticise on the Residence's part; they have produced a wonderful piece of characterful, Parisian living in a faultless location and for a price that could never be disputed.

The staff deserve a mention too, as they were very helpful and obliging.

I will certainly be using the Residence again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CertifiedCopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    69
    46
    20
    20
See reviews for
45
64
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

If you aren't looking for luxury but rather a good basic room at a great price for the location, then this is the place. Across from the most wonderful park in Paris with great bus and train stations nearby to get you to everything else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Good location - pretty quite street with nice cafes and resturants nearby
Friendly owner
Only issues: poor sound proofing and for some reason members of staff (housekeeping staff) unlocked the door and walked in without knocking, twice

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Beth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here for a weekend while she was doing study abroad in Oxford. Awesome location, easy to find from the subway. Great restaurants and bakeries nearby. Our room overlooked the gardens. I cant wait to go back with my husband next spring for our 30th wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smipigfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

The residence is boasting perfect location: just steps away from the Jardin du Luxembourg. Bus stop is in front of the building, and metro is 10 minutes walk. It is in the beautiful building with an elevator. We had triple room and it was quite spacious with elegant furniture. The shower was right in the room facing window. Besides being quite small, the shower might produce a lot of humidity when three people in a raw are taking a shower. It is not a problem in summer time, when one can just open the window, but could be troublesome in winter. Room itself as well as external toilette were kept very clean. Breakfast is not worth 5 euro they charge for it, especially coffee, as much better coffee can be enjoyed even in cafe downstairs. Overall, good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alena37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here - we had booked a triple room but upon arrival were given a quad room which consisted of two bedrooms, with the shower and basin located in the corner of one of the bedrooms. There were two toilets in the outside hallway, which were always clean. Our room was very cheerful and absolutely huge compared to the variety of accommodation we had experienced across Europe in the preceding month or so. We had booked around ten months in advance and paid around 85 euros a night which was fantastic for Paris. Very close to the metro, shops and cafes.

One suggestion though - an earlier review had mentioned that they had difficulty finding Residence du Palais. We had checked out the location on Google Street View before leaving home, and knowing the door to look for helped us tremendously (we'd walked from the metro with 20 kg backpacks after taking two different trains, and we were keen to off-load the bags). There is a plaque near the door, and you will need to follow the instructions to buzz yourself through the heavy door. This is a residential building, but there are signs to help you find the (tiny) lift so that you can make your way to the office on the second floor.

Thoroughly recommended if you are looking for authentic Parisienne accommodation, with the added bonus of being budget-friendly and well-located.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TokaraSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#933 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#158 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de l'Avenir
Hotel de l'Avenir
#1,507 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Minerve Hotel
Minerve Hotel
#953 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Perreyve Hotel
Perreyve Hotel
#1,115 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Pas de Calais
Hotel Pas de Calais
#95 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Residence du Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Residence du Palais

Property: Pension Residence du Palais
Address: 78 rue d Assas, 75006 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Pension Residence du Palais 1.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Residence du Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Du Palais Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing