We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Ranked #1,340 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Terrible experience never again!”
Reviewed July 14, 2011

My husband, bay and I stayed there to get over our jet-lag before continuing our trip down South. It was a very bad idea. I usually stay the hotel Solar which is in the area which I know well and like very much. The hotel Solar was full so we booked this one. What a disappointment : small, smelly, noisy hot and dirty room, far too small to put a baby bed. Very unhelpful unpleasant staff. We didn't sleep at all and our baby was very uncomfortable. When we left we found out that the price I had been told on the phone months before was not the same, it was almost double.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandrinePell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    35
    39
    15
    6
See reviews for
10
39
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

This hotel is absolutely fine. It is a basic budget hotel with no facilities but in a good location.

The rooms are small, but very clean and with an adequate bathroom and good shower and friendly staff.

We did have a slight problem at check in with one member of our party getting the key to an already occupied room, twice. Which gave some security concerns but this was down to an inexperienced member of staff and we had no further problems.

If you want a good value, clean place to lay your head then this hotel will suit you.

Double Euro 80, Single Euro 69

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slynomadstill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

If you are looking for a 5* feature laden hotel look elsewhere. If you are looking for an inexpensive, safe, clean, friendly and convenient hotel this is the place. No, there isn't an ice maker, there isn't a lobby bar, there aren't 200 channels on the TV, there isn't a swimming pool or an on site spa. The rooms are just barely large enough for the bed and if you have a street facing room it will be noisy. But you are in Paris and that is what the real Paris is like. If you want the high end luxuries save your money and go to Vegas. If you want peace and quiet, do not even think of going to Paris. There is no such thing as quiet in Paris. If you want to go to Paris, experience Paris as it is and have enough money to enjoy everything that amazing city has to offer; this is the hotel. Small, convenient in a big city way (50 paces to the Metro and the bus stops outside the door) easily reachable by public transit (lots of people do. It's very common to see people carting luggage on the Metro and the hotel give excellent directions when you book on venere.com) from the airport and trains saving a huge amount of money. for example: 8 euros each. The staff speak passable to excellent English and are as friendly and as helpful as any I've ever met. Main thing? If you want resort amenities go to a resort. If you want a safe clean place to stay. Stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2010

the hotel must invest till august. Should be return to the standard that i knew a few years agow.

->shower must be clean.

seems t be a problem with leasing personal

->things which are not working properly must be replaced.

they should go up with the price and invest more in the hotel. It will be more intelligent.

please try to improve it because the location is great. It is possible.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Clairefontaine
Hotel Clairefontaine
#1,305 of 1,801 in Paris
189 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
Hotel la Perle Montparnasse
#1,401 of 1,801 in Paris
59 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel du Maine
Hotel du Maine
#1,321 of 1,801 in Paris
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Tipi Hotel
Tipi Hotel
#1,558 of 1,801 in Paris
185 reviews
Montparnasse
Le Myosotis
Le Myosotis
#1,229 of 1,801 in Paris
74 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
Hotel Montparnasse Daguerre
#838 of 1,801 in Paris
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Denfert Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denfert Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Denfert Montparnasse
Address: 70 rue Daguerre, 75014 Paris, France (Formerly Hotel Saphir)
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,340 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Denfert Montparnasse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Denfert Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing