We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermin infested rooms, very rude staff, a nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Residence De Bruxelles
Ranked #1,582 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed May 11, 2013

This place may be cheap but it was nowhere near worth even the little we paid for it. It's in the middle of Montmartre which is filthy and dangerous, especially if you look like you have money! It's full of pickpockets and scam artists, be very careful and keep a close eye on your stuff if you plan to venture into it.

I arrived at the hotel exhausted after travelling all day, the owner appeared to be annoyed with me for bothering him by attempting to check in. The room was up several flights of stairs and down several corridors, the owner didn't explain to me properly where it was and wouldn't come with me to help me with my luggage. When I couldn't find the room and walked all the way back down to the front desk to ask him to show me where it was, he still refused.

I didn't think it could get much worse, but that night a mouse ran across the floor of our room! I was disgusted and furious. I went down to explain the situation, and the owner, after rolling his eyes and pretending not to understand what I was saying, tried to put us in a room with two single beds, not a double room which we had paid for! He did not even apologise for the MOUSE in our room. Absolutely appalling, without doubt the worst "hotel" I have ever stayed in. It really should be shut down for its filth and vermin. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 164 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night here. It was a 7 minute walk from the Gare du Nord where trains from Charles De Gaulle airport arrive in the city centre. As I was arriving at 10 pm I didn't want to have to deal with the metro at that time of night.

The walk is poorly lit and quite a lot of groups of young people hanging round made it a little uncomfortable for a single female traveller (always be cautious in a big city!).

The staff were polite and courteous on check-in and told me where the nearest shop and metro station were (very close). Vending machines in lobby and I was given a little plate of fresh dates - a pleasant touch.

The room was very basic - a bed, one bedside table, some built-in shelving but no chair and no desk. The bathroom was showing the signs of wear and tear with age but both were clean and the sheets freshly starched and bright white.

The elevated metro runs outside the hotel so ask for a room overlooking the courtyard otherwise you'll only sleep between 1am and 5 am.

In summary, it's fine if you're on a budget and not a solo traveller. Beware - breakfast finishes at 9!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

A decent hotel if you're just using it to spend the night in your room. The room I got (single) was not too big but comfortable for a sleep.
The neighbourhood is a bit rough but a metro station is pretty close by (about 200-300 metres) so it is convenient....
breakfast is a bit sparse
Free wifi

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anuragc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I booked the Hotel Residence De Bruxelles through Venere.com for 19JUNE2012. Upon arriving in Paris and finding the hotel, the front desk denied me service despite having the confirmation and booking number. He said that he didn't except the booking. I told him I didn't have a place to stay or a phone that worked and he kept yelling at me saying that he didn't care. This hotel was right outside the metro but in a very dirty area. I was better off finding another hotel elsewhere in Paris after the poor treatment received here on top of being denied a place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

•this hotel located by near the gare du nord station.
•Out of the window, there are a lot of pigeons.
•In this room, a little musty

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aladdin-Tokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I got to this hotel and the owner refused to check us in because we booked with hotels.com. This man yelled at us (two girls) and told us we needed to leave. He started gesturing and appeared to be threatening us in French. The hotel itself was extremely filthy ( including the lobby). There were stray cats roaming around inside the lobby and hallways of the hotel. The walls were stained with dirt, couch was ripped. We were there for 30 min trying to figure what to do and we began to itch all over. The man who owns this place does not like Americans, looks dangerous. The area was in the heart of a very poor and unsafe part of Paris. No tourists, no cabs to be seen. Please do not go there. He would not even let us use te phone when our phones died. Overall, a terrible way to begin our trip to Paris.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelbugg143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The owner of the hotel kicked us out and cancelled out booking as we walked in because he "did nt want to work with Americans that booked through hotels.com because he was not getting his money". The staff was rude unhelpful and overall scummy and they seemed to be drunk. The location was also horrible. Located in the GHETTO of Paris , it was very unsafe and unfriendly. Also, the faculties were disgusting. Filthy, with cars all over the place. Do not stay here !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Naribuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gofen
#1,679 of 1,802 in Paris
23 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Luna Park Hotel
Luna Park Hotel
#1,269 of 1,802 in Paris
712 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,559 of 1,802 in Paris
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,385 of 1,802 in Paris
147 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
#1,572 of 1,802 in Paris
257 reviews
Hotel de L'Union
#709 of 1,802 in Paris
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence De Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence De Bruxelles

Address: 88 boulevard de la Chapelle, 75018 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,582 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $53 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence De Bruxelles 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence De Bruxelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence De Bruxelles Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing