We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very well situated hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Residence Chalgrin
Ranked #1,523 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed March 15, 2013

When we arrived the person at the front desk was unwilling to help us with our luggage (no lift is available in this hotel).We were given a room on the 4th floor with an horrible bathroom where the privacy was inadequate.We found out later that the balcony was actually shared with another room.We thought we would get what was advertised on line.We found out later that those rooms were different (the pictures shown online) and at a higher price, however they were shown under the price of 97 euros per night and the breakfast is not included.The plus of this hotel is that it is well situated and it is clean. We will not stay there again because it doesn't offer enough privacy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yoyo725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 70 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for almost a week when at a congress inparis. The hotel is well located, with a 10 min walk to palais de congress and even less to the subway.

I got the room which was located at the reception desk, next to the exit. This was a bit awkward, but it was less annoying then i expected in the beginning. This room was quite noisy at moments, also because I got quite some noise from the street.

The room was small, but everything you needed was there. The room was clean, but a bit worn down.

The hotel was quite reasonable in price and Internet was free.

I will not look for this hotel next time I am in paris, but if I end up there, that would be ok.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Dirk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is an excellent little hotel, well located just minutes from the Arc de Triomphe. The closest metro is Argentine, which is on the same line as the Place de La Concorde, Tuileries, Rivoli and the Louvre - so this is also very convenient for first time visitors. Rooms are comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. My only criticism was the chambermaid, whom we found quite rude and unhelpful. She spoiled an otherwise pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Consider paying a bit more for the Junior Suite, which has a spacious sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have stayed at Chalgrin three times, and I am going back there again. Prices are more than reasonable, It is a quiet hotel, and the staff is friendly. Rooms are good, but chose a double room, even if you are traveling alone. They are quite small.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AllanFatum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I first stayed at the Residence Chalgrin in 1999 and this was my sixth visit. I have always found the staff friendly and helpful. The 'creepy looking man' described by Donstallione is, I would guess, a stroke victim who has limited facial mobility and requires the aid of a stick to walk. The great thing about the Chalgrin is that it is a couple of hundred metres from the Arc De Triomphe between the Avenues Foche and Grand Armee. The nearest Metro is Argentine which is on the metros equivalent to the Central Line and great for the Champs Elysees, the Louvre etc. There are good bistros within easy walking distance and next to to the metro is a convenience store run by a Moroccan family. Across the Grand Armee is a traditional patisserie which is great for a quick breakfast if you don't want to purchase breakfast in the hotel itself. Negative points are that the walls are thin so we managed to upset our next door neighbour whilst sharing a late night bottle of wine and chatting.Also there is no lift and the spiral staircase can be quite daunting. All in all a great place to stay run by friendly and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a mini suite. If unfit try to get a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ciderpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

What a nice place to stay. Very good price for a good basic hotel in a great location.
I don't understand the review of Donstallion. He even dislikes Paris. Don must be from an other planet.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rsto-avenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

This was our second stay at Residence Chalgrin and it confirmed our first impression: Very pleasant staff, good clean rooms, a copious breakfast and a quiet night just a few minutes walk from Champs Elysees and Etoile. Every room is furnished differently and it's cosy!!!!
It is very near the metro, bus from the airport and RER. We noticed several "returnees", and the hotel is becoming very popular. Early reservation is necessary.
All this for less than EURO 100 in the centre of Paris is of course also the reason for its popularity.

Room Tip: No elevator, so ask for room on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FHN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Hotel Eiffel Seine
#347 of 1,805 in Paris
2,254 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Malte - Astotel
Hotel Malte - Astotel
#22 of 1,805 in Paris
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Generator Hostel Paris
Gobelins
La Manufacture
La Manufacture
#270 of 1,805 in Paris
1,731 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#98 of 1,805 in Paris
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residence Chalgrin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residence Chalgrin

Address: 10 rue Chalgrin, 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Passy
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,523 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Residence Chalgrin 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Residence Chalgrin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Chalgrin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing