We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want your reservation lost and money stolen, come here. 0 stars. Pure Crooks.”
Review of Hotel du Pont Neuf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Pont Neuf
Ranked #1,704 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I'm all for mom and pop places, but the lack of organization and abysmal customer service makes this the worst place to stay in Paris. First off, the hotel handles all reservations with paper copies and hand written documents, so your reservation has a very high risk of being 'lost', as ours was, and conveniently found again when it comes time to charging you.

At the last second we had to find another hotel, but were charged the full amount for the room reservation (that they were unable to find). We called 6 times to speak with a manager to sort things out(/reverse the charge) and were told to call back at a later date and time after every call. We were denied a manager every time and received very rude remarks during calls. We are not first time travellers. We have stayed at several hotels in Paris before without this problem.

Avoid this hotel unless you want your reservation lost and credit card charged anyways.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 111 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

It was better to stay home!
OK: it is near the most important places in Paris and the staff is nice ..but what a bad hotel! dark rooms, steep stairs, a bad smell, bathroom was about one square meter..and something of my clothes are gone from my closet!
the worst experience I have had in my travel!

Room Tip: it's absolutely impossible to find a good room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Puni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is one to avoid at all cost. I was on the 4th floor, no lift and many stairs. There is no air con or fan. The room standard is appalling.. There is no TV, no electrical sockets, no shampoo or toiletries provided. Shower scum and hair in the drain and a dirty shower head. The shower was tiny with an old shower curtain with holes in it. The water temperature fluctuates from boiling to freezing. The towels are actually no more than a tea towel. They don’t even wrap round you and paper thin. The curtains and windows are moldy. The street is so noisy all night long. No individual pillows. Light blub not working in the bathroom. I have paid far less for a hostel and had better accommodation. No wifi in the rooms but free at reception. The only thing positive about this place was the staff were very nice and friendly but everything else is very poor. I would not consider staying here again. Crime central mes amis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lmelbourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Unclean hotel, they gave us a room in 5th floor and it was awful, there's no elevator and the room it's tiny!!! (I'm asian so go figure)
Unfriendly staff specially the one at night!, no internet conection, the breakfast is very expensive and no good.
The location is very good, near by big stores and bus stop and train station but it's not worthy ...
I still have back ache thanks to the awful matress

Room Tip: Great location but not worthy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Granted, it's cheap and in a very central location, but everything else is just awful. Tiny, dirty rooms with hard beds, bathrooms the size of a broom closet and to top it all off, no elevator - and you're unlucky, you'll have to climb up to five flights of narrow, winding stairs to get to your room. No radio or TV and you have to ask for a decent-sized towel instead of the wash-cloths provided. The staff were friendly enough but I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lochlannach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were sent to this hotel as a back up because our first choice was having plumbing problems apparently.

When we first walked in we were in shock. We did NOT want to stay here, it looked gross, and the bed was so uncomfortable. We left, bringing our things, hoping to find a different hotel but everything in that area was so much more expensive, so we stayed. We figured that since we would only be using the bed basically, we would be alright.

The bed is terrible, it is so uncomfortable. I could feel every spring in the mattress. you'd think there would at least be a decent bed considering your in Paris, and you basically only use the hotel to sleep!

The floors were really worn, the tiles in the bathroom were very old, much like all of the decor. It just needs some work to look better and a better bed. The sheets were clean, the toilet, shower, and sink were clean too.

The service was great. The woman who is there in the morning speaks great English and she always made sure we were set with towels and such in our room.

The location is pretty good. There are cafes all over and it is close to a bunch of tourist spots. Walking is easy if you stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeahH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed here for three nights in Summer...yes the room was small and very basic but this is Europe and for the location and price you can't expect anything else. The room was pretty clean but a bit dark, dingy and not really welcoming. It was at the top of a narrow, creaky wooden staircase (5 floors?) and was the sort of room you sleep in rather than sit and relax in. However the location is superb and you never need to travel that far to get home. The staff were friendly too. Don't expect any amenities with this place but you'll save a load of money that you can spend doing something nice!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emrald14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Flor Rivoli
Hotel Flor Rivoli
#1,185 of 1,804 in Paris
407 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel Agora
Hotel Agora
#1,342 of 1,804 in Paris
306 reviews
Les Halles
Tonic Hotel Louvre
Tonic Hotel Louvre
#1,395 of 1,804 in Paris
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
France Louvre
France Louvre
#1,464 of 1,804 in Paris
282 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel du Cygne
Hotel du Cygne
#1,082 of 1,804 in Paris
199 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Aboukir
Hotel Royal Aboukir
#1,396 of 1,804 in Paris
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pont Neuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pont Neuf

Address: 20 rue du Roule, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,704 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: $87 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Pont Neuf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pont Neuf Hotel
Du Pont Neuf Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing